We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable family friendly resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable family friendly resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this resort after Christmas. We were very impressed with the level of service at the resort. We originally booked two nights but after spending time here we wanted to stay an extra night. The front desk was very accommodating and we were able to book an extra night at the same rate. We stayed in a studio which is a nice size for a family of three. Our friends booked a one bedroom, which I preferred over the studio. I liked that it had a separate living room, dining room, and full kitchen. Next time we'll book a one bedroom. I only gave the resort four stars because of the bed linens and blankets. The linens have been used and washed too many times. They don't have the crisp look of nice hotel linens. The blankets are thin and also worn. On a cold evening it would've been nice to have a thicker more plush blanket. It's a shame because the rooms are very nice, but the bed linens do not do the room justice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 3seasonedtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    148
    36
    17
    18
See reviews for
398
97
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights beginning on Thanksgiving night. We had 6 adults and 4 children in one of the 2 bedroom apartments. Great room. Very comfortable. The facilities for kids are great. We loved the water slides, the heated pool and even the lazy river (too cold for this grandpa but the grandkids loved it). One of the best features was the fire pit we reserved the last night for roasting hot dogs and making s'mores. What a great memory. I enjoyed the fact that it is more low key than the Hill Country Resort across the street. Guests do have access to the amenities of that resort if they care to use them, however. Overall, a great place for a family gathering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BYUDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent a week in November at the Wild Oak Ranch. Great place to stay, the apartments are first class and we enjoyed the facilities on site. Great heated pool and lazy river, very well laid out and well run with regard to a plentiful supply of towels, good showers and two good slides. The lazy river has cabanas and a hot tub.

There is a fire pit,outdoor cinema, a gym and a well equipped children's club. We particularly liked the barbecues located alongside our accommodation. Just a call to reception, ensured that thy were lit and ready for you to cook your dinner on. Tables were provided, but at this time of year you needed a little extra light to see what you were eating. Walmart provided a candle after the first night, which was more than adequate.

There were two disappointing aspects to our stay, but as they were optional, I have not factored them in when awarding five stars. The Smokehouse shop was ridiculously expensive and our one meal at the on site restaurant was not very good.

You do have access to a linked site, just over the road that has apparently several good dining establishments. They also have their own lazy river and other facilities. We did not visit the site on this occasion, so can only take into account the comments of other guests who had.

Will certainly go back next time we are in San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank highperformance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch is a great place to stay! The condos are very nice. There are a lot of activities for the family such as an indoor/ outdoor pool, water slides, water volleyball, volleyball, lazy river, and playscape. If you want a romantic trip, this would also be your place to stay. The outdoor hot tub is hidden away from all of the family activities. Antler's Lodge has an elegant dining atmosphere. There are trails to walk and smores under the moonlight.

The resort service is wonderful. Two of our guest were arriving late. When they went to check in, they weren't on the list to be given a key. After the manager looked into it (5 minute wait), our guests were given a key. Two bottles of wine were placed in our room from the resort to appologize for the inconvenience.

I highly recommend this place for both family or a romantic get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank summersrainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol TN
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Were there first week of November. In our 20+ years of timesharing, this was one of the nicest resorts we have been. Lucky that temperatures were in the low 80's which made our stay pleasant. Also this time of the year meant it was very uncrowded. The 2 bedroom unit was large and well decorated. 3 HD flatscreen tv's. The grounds were impeccable. We even saw them buffing the sidewalks. Nice rec facilties - pool, lazy river, gym. Hammocks and private sitting areas placed thruout. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Had a daily trash and towel service and a midweek cleaning. Checkin and checkout only took minutes. It's about 8 miles from downtown but everything is easily accessible via interstates. Plenty of shopping and restaurants very closeby. Can't say enough of how much we enjoyed our week here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 30hotrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this resort for 4 nights. The resort is beautifully landscaped and clean. The staff is very nice and helpful. The studios are large and have comfortable beds, furniture and patio area. The lazy river was awesome- we enjoyed floating around for hours. The indoor and outdoor pools are large and nice although they are very shallow and really more conducive for kids. They have activities going on regularly for families and we enjoyed roasting s'mores over the fire pit. The resort is about 20 minutes outside of the downtown area. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting San Antonio.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank PhilaTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My family and I stayed here in the two bedroom condo for one night while visiting Six Flags Fiesta Texas for a quick getaway with a little fun mixed in. As this was our second time staying, the first time being just my wife and I, I already knew what to expect. We had a wonderful time staying here again and we will be returning probably every time we come to San Antonio. It is perfectly located about five minutes from Sea World, twenty minutes from Six Flags, and just far enough away from the city to feel like you're getting away from it all. Next time the family and I will be doing a bit more on the resort grounds, as there is a lot to do onsite as well, such as swimming or enjoying the outdoors. We can't wait for our next trip out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Quokneeko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 356 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#17 of 356 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Property: Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing