We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #8 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Strongsville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are just leaving here today and will definitely return. Loved the Texan feel and of course there will be country music you are in Texas! As the previous review said the music was nauseating then they should of brought their own and put in ear plugs, we loved it! After the pool we would go and sit on the porch by the reception area or in the rockers on the porch of the general store and the music there was a little bit of everything from country to blues to classic rock.

We loved the layout too! There are little nooks off of the lazy river to lounge and make it a little private.there are fire pits spread throughout the complex, not just one big one. People are so friendly and polite, it was amazing. I liked the fact that the pool and jacuzzis are open until 11pm unlike our home resort at Coconut plantation in Bonita Springs FL.

Room Tip: We originally had a ground floor room but changed to a third floor. Otherwise we would of been star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank netflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    164
    39
    18
    18
See reviews for
444
113
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here because we had a free week and couldn't get into our highly coveted Key West property. I don't mind experiencing new places at all and this place was fine. It has nice amenities like the golf course, pools and lazy river. Jb's cafe at the pool area was also nice to have there. It is a very quiet place to relax with the exception of the construction of large condo buildings next door. There were a few young families around but most guests were of retirement age.

The only real "bad" thing was the music at the pool area was rather loud and all they played was country. After awhile you can tune it out but it was rather nausiating. I would have expected at least a little cross over once in a while.

Our condo was nice for a studio. drawbacks were the bed. It was rather soft. The room was also a little dark. There was a nice terrace however.

We had to escape the dryness of the landscape and drove to Corpus Christi for the day. Padre Island is just such a nice place to visit. But that should be another review...

Room Tip: The Studio size was ok but I think a one bedroom, which adds a kitchen would have been more to my li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lubys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

this by far was the best family vacation ever,the one bedroom suite was soooo nice,the bathrooms were unreal, it was the cleanest place we have ever been too, the staff is every where for you and the pools and water slides were the best,so much too do ,you do not need to leave, the store on property was just what we needed and the food was great at the bar area. we did not want to leave.my children cried when we did. We would stay here every time. I wish they had this resort in illinois ,we would go for just get aways. Thank you so much staff and pool staff and grounds and house keeping you made our vacation.

Room Tip: any where or room at this resort would be a great stay for you or family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jayme V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Enjoyed this property when it was Brand new and recently. They have keep it up 5 star quality. Enjoyed the lazy days and lazy river. Beautiful venue for a resort property. Everyone I encountered from the staff was wonderful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Caveat: This property is a vacation ownership and we own one week in the summer. We rarely use it on the week that we own, but instead go back for repeated short stays.

Our most recent stay was in early August with our family and a sister's family all staying in a 2 bedroom unit. These units have plenty of space to spread kids around, a full kitchen for meals and snacks. It doesn't have daily room service, but we utilized housekeeping to get extra towels, sheets, pillows. Response is prompt and courteous.

Check-in and Check-out is pretty smooth, the hours aren't usually as favorable as a hotel, but they are pretty accomidating when you ask for an early room or more time to check out.

We spend most our days on the property in the 2 pool areas that are available - either the lazy river or the upper pool which has 2 slides and more kid's activities. Service is usually OK, but expect the premium prices for food and drinks. It would be nice to have more serving staff available, but it hasn't ever been crowded so the few staff are able to get around pretty good. They've always been courteous and helpful.

We've done the movie nights on the lawn, which have recently been popular so get there early for the good seats - and the popcorn is free.

My family have also used the sister Hyatt property as a free shuttle is provided (Hyatt Hill Country) which has another pool with lazy river, more lunch/dinner options, a bar, and the golf clubhouse.

The golf course was beautiful in early August, and although it was a hot afternoon, shade was abundant the beer cart made several passes. The only downside is that the golf shop could not charge our room, but every other place on either Hyatt property could.

The rooms, we've stayed in mostly just the 2 bedrooms which are nicely appointed with tile, granite, stainless steel appliances. The flat screen TV's are starting to show there age as is some of the carpet, but not a big deal for a big family that mostly want to be relaxed and not worry out messing up some expensive fixtures, etc.

I like the relaxing location the resort provides - kinda out of the downtown area. Most of the views are of Oak trees and hills - and SeaWorld roller coasters. We've taken advantage of nearby restaurants, gocery stores, and in the past we've gone to SeaWorld since it is literally across the highway - to convenient to pass up - only wish there was a shuttle.

Room Tip: I've not yet seen a bad room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are most accesible via stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KJAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

All staff members at the Wild Oak Ranch were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and we were able to enjoy a week of relaxation despite the construction noise from nearby properties. One problem that we did encounter involved internet access in our room - there was an apparent technical issue that was never resolved during our stay. Consequently, my husband was not able to work on a project required by his employer. Although the media room was available, only one of the two computers was working and could not be dominated for extended periods of time.

The activities information was not communicated clearly as we discovered (by accident) that one of the calendars was for the nearby Hill Country Hyatt resort. The Wild Oak did provide a shuttle service to that facility, but we were concerned about allowing our grand kids (preteens) to go it alone, It would also be beneficial if information outlining nearby dining and grocery options was made available. We dined at J.B.'s and snacked at the Ice House, but information about nearby options would have been welcomed.

By the way, our grand kids were told that they could not come down the pool slide head first - a policy we understand and agree with, however, no staff member was at the top of the slide to monitor this. We observed numerous kids sliding down head first and nearly crashing into others in the pool - this is an accident waiting to happen. Parking was also problematic forcing several guests to park in Fire Zones.

One final note...the sliding glass door leading to the balcony (Room 6183) did not lock and was only secured by a lightweight aluminum rod. Slight inconveniences notwithstanding, the facility is well kept and provides two pool options in which to relax and cool off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mz_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for three nights with our three year old, and really enjoyed the resort. We stayed in a studio, which was plenty of space for the three of us (although we would have loved some private space). The studio had a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The bathroom was huge and very nicely appointed. The air conditioning worked very, very well, which is a major plus in Texas in July! The grounds are very pretty and the pool and lazy river were lots of fun.

Pros: pool and lazy river are great for kids, the resort has a kids' program that looked awesome (we didn't use it, though), the room was nice, the grounds are very pretty and secluded, very close to Seaworld

Cons: very young staff seemed less than enthused about their jobs, a group of guests at the lazy river was very rude (not the resort's fault), they only provided one packet for coffee and since we are coffee drinkers we had to buy coffee (this probably comes with the territory in a timeshare property like this, but I am used to getting new coffee daily at a hotel), very far from downtown and the Riverwalk, hard to find nearby restaurants, not a good place for a couple to go for a romantic getaway.

Overall, it was a great stay and I'd go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dallasyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Property: Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing