We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids and young at heart!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #20 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Enjoyed this property when it was Brand new and recently. They have keep it up 5 star quality. Enjoyed the lazy days and lazy river. Beautiful venue for a resort property. Everyone I encountered from the staff was wonderful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 706 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Caveat: This property is a vacation ownership and we own one week in the summer. We rarely use it on the week that we own, but instead go back for repeated short stays.

Our most recent stay was in early August with our family and a sister's family all staying in a 2 bedroom unit. These units have plenty of space to spread kids around, a full kitchen for meals and snacks. It doesn't have daily room service, but we utilized housekeeping to get extra towels, sheets, pillows. Response is prompt and courteous.

Check-in and Check-out is pretty smooth, the hours aren't usually as favorable as a hotel, but they are pretty accomidating when you ask for an early room or more time to check out.

We spend most our days on the property in the 2 pool areas that are available - either the lazy river or the upper pool which has 2 slides and more kid's activities. Service is usually OK, but expect the premium prices for food and drinks. It would be nice to have more serving staff available, but it hasn't ever been crowded so the few staff are able to get around pretty good. They've always been courteous and helpful.

We've done the movie nights on the lawn, which have recently been popular so get there early for the good seats - and the popcorn is free.

My family have also used the sister Hyatt property as a free shuttle is provided (Hyatt Hill Country) which has another pool with lazy river, more lunch/dinner options, a bar, and the golf clubhouse.

The golf course was beautiful in early August, and although it was a hot afternoon, shade was abundant the beer cart made several passes. The only downside is that the golf shop could not charge our room, but every other place on either Hyatt property could.

The rooms, we've stayed in mostly just the 2 bedrooms which are nicely appointed with tile, granite, stainless steel appliances. The flat screen TV's are starting to show there age as is some of the carpet, but not a big deal for a big family that mostly want to be relaxed and not worry out messing up some expensive fixtures, etc.

I like the relaxing location the resort provides - kinda out of the downtown area. Most of the views are of Oak trees and hills - and SeaWorld roller coasters. We've taken advantage of nearby restaurants, gocery stores, and in the past we've gone to SeaWorld since it is literally across the highway - to convenient to pass up - only wish there was a shuttle.

Room Tip: I've not yet seen a bad room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are most accesible via stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KJAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

All staff members at the Wild Oak Ranch were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and we were able to enjoy a week of relaxation despite the construction noise from nearby properties. One problem that we did encounter involved internet access in our room - there was an apparent technical issue that was never resolved during our stay. Consequently, my husband was not able to work on a project required by his employer. Although the media room was available, only one of the two computers was working and could not be dominated for extended periods of time.

The activities information was not communicated clearly as we discovered (by accident) that one of the calendars was for the nearby Hill Country Hyatt resort. The Wild Oak did provide a shuttle service to that facility, but we were concerned about allowing our grand kids (preteens) to go it alone, It would also be beneficial if information outlining nearby dining and grocery options was made available. We dined at J.B.'s and snacked at the Ice House, but information about nearby options would have been welcomed.

By the way, our grand kids were told that they could not come down the pool slide head first - a policy we understand and agree with, however, no staff member was at the top of the slide to monitor this. We observed numerous kids sliding down head first and nearly crashing into others in the pool - this is an accident waiting to happen. Parking was also problematic forcing several guests to park in Fire Zones.

One final note...the sliding glass door leading to the balcony (Room 6183) did not lock and was only secured by a lightweight aluminum rod. Slight inconveniences notwithstanding, the facility is well kept and provides two pool options in which to relax and cool off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mz_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for three nights with our three year old, and really enjoyed the resort. We stayed in a studio, which was plenty of space for the three of us (although we would have loved some private space). The studio had a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The bathroom was huge and very nicely appointed. The air conditioning worked very, very well, which is a major plus in Texas in July! The grounds are very pretty and the pool and lazy river were lots of fun.

Pros: pool and lazy river are great for kids, the resort has a kids' program that looked awesome (we didn't use it, though), the room was nice, the grounds are very pretty and secluded, very close to Seaworld

Cons: very young staff seemed less than enthused about their jobs, a group of guests at the lazy river was very rude (not the resort's fault), they only provided one packet for coffee and since we are coffee drinkers we had to buy coffee (this probably comes with the territory in a timeshare property like this, but I am used to getting new coffee daily at a hotel), very far from downtown and the Riverwalk, hard to find nearby restaurants, not a good place for a couple to go for a romantic getaway.

Overall, it was a great stay and I'd go again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dallasyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently stayed here for a week's family vacation.Our unit was beautifully decorated and clean with comfortable beds, and we found the staff to be very friendly/helpful, so I am must admit, I am puzzled by some of these negative service reviews.The pros were the fun swimming pool complex and water slides, and the lazy river with its real sand beach--our 5-year-old twins had a blast! I can identify with some of the other reviewers' frustration about denying kids under 48" access to the water slides. It was very disappointing/confusing for the kids, especially when we've stayed at other Hyatt and Disney properties where they had been allowed on even bigger slides than these. (However, they only monitored this during the day, so we'd go use the slide in the evening with no problem.) The resort had great family activities like making s'mores at the fire pits (they provide all the fixings) and outdoor family movies under the stars (with free popcorn; nice touch!). And this property is so close to Sea World (a 5-minute drive), but still in a private, quiet location off the beaten path. We had a week's pass so we drove conveniently back and forth to the park all week. The only real con for us was the mediocrity of the sole restaurant on the property (limited menu; just OK food, but they did provide pool-side service which was convenient) but there were lots of good choices of restaurants nearby, and we had a unit with a full kitchen, so it wasn't a problem. Overall a great family place to stay in San Antonio's Hill Country with well appointed accommodations, grounds and facilities.

Room Tip: Not all units have a washer/dryer, so if that's important to you make sure you confirm ahead of...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My family stayed here for a week in their 2 bed room suite, it was perfect for us. The room is equip with a full kitchen, washer and dryer, master bed has jacuzzi tub, flat screen tv's in all the rooms with dvd players, and a hugh balcony or patio that you can access from the living area or master bedroom. The property has an awesome lazy river and inn door/ outdoor pool. Every night is special with a family event for movie night at the pavilion to making smores at there camp fires. The location is also great if your visting sea world which is 5 minutes away. We love this resort and will definitely be back. Only draw back is check inn time and check out times.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cotakim100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

While the amenities of this place are nice, it was way too crowded for us looking for a romantic getaway. There were no tubes or towels available at at the lazy river in the afternoon. Every spot we looked at was filled with families and kids. Lots of variety at the recreation center-games, media room, several pools, hot tub, lazy river, parks, horse shoes, shuffleboard and nature trails. Not many dining options however. We agree to go on a "sell" tour while here, and the high pressure was not worth the great price they gave us on the rooms. The rooms were nice and spacious but we flipped the breaker the first morning trying to use the toaster and microwave at the same time. The staff was quick to correct the problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,114 reviews
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,860 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 W Military Dr, San Antonio, TX 78251-1754
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $162 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing