We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #5 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“???”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Place is not that bad, far from downtown. Pools are heated.. We had food at JB's in the resort... Service was slow with limited choice to eat.. Usually staff at resort restrauants are very friendly, and always have smile on their face.. But our experience wasn't that great..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matrix_anil_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    170
    40
    18
    18
See reviews for
454
117
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

For context about our simply “OK” review here, it probably helps to know something about the reviewers. We are retired from management positions in corporate jobs and are history centric, food centric travelers. We chose this resort for a week long stay as we could trade in our Starwood Time Share for a week here while we spent time exploring historic sites around and eating in San Antonio.

First, we highly recommend San Antonio (SA) as a destination for both of those activities. One of the pieces of good news about this resort is that it was close enough to SA locales, downtown, Mission Trail, Pearl and all associated River Walk locations to easily do that. And there are top notch restaurants in SA too.

In fact, location and friendly staff here were the best pieces of the stay. It is for those reasons that we’d have this on our “we’d consider it list…” for another visit. But there are other reasons why this isn’t a place we’d have at the top of that list when we’re in the area again.

Let’s start with the GOOD THINGS:

Staff: Very friendly both at check in and check out and very helpful concierge.

Staff: Unit assigned was as we had requested in advance of arrival.

Staff: We requested NOT to be contacted with a time share “pitch” and they honored our request.

Lodge / Lobby: Very nice large room with tables and furniture for gathering.

Location: Convenient to San Antonio – less than 20 minutes drive.

Kitchen: Full kitchen with good quality appliances all in working order.

Baths: Spacious, clean and all in working order. Nice absorbent towels.

Exercise room: Spacious enough and with good equipment in working order.

House keeping: Once a week clean and daily freshening for towels and garbage pick up worked well.

Washer / Dryer: In unit (stacked) was great to have as we were on a month long road trip.

Outdoor deck: Spacious outdoor deck off of unit.

The NOT SO GOOD THINGS:

Pool: We are not “lounge by the pool” types, bur we do use pools on properties and we were underwhelmed with them here. Different strokes for different folks. And if you’re planning on using the water slide / lazy river note it seems to be turned off in January.

Pool: No parking at the pool meant one had to hike back to their unit in wet clothes after a swim…not a great thing in cold weather.

Noisy Location: We requested the Persimmon building on an upper floor. That request was based on other traveler reviews that cited this building as quiet and having good outlooks. In more different strokes, we thought this was pretty noisy as it backed to the freeway and the outlook was unremarkable during the day, although with some lights at night. For better settings, you might want to consider the buildings that back to the golf course with units on the back side of those buildings.

Media room: Media library as we think they called it, was dank and odiferous with chlorine from the pool, over which it was located. If you needed to use a PC (we travel with a laptop so we didn’t) that’s where they were located too. .

Accessibility: We saw several examples of problems with barrier free equal access for things like paths of travel on property, entry to common facilities, ADA compliant van accessible parking at lobby and preview room and so on. We left a list of things needing attention in our check out comment card. Given we met several young men on this trip who were in SA who had lost limbs or use of them due to war service, it was top that it is about time that properties like this get in gear as we enter the third decade of ADA standards. It is a civil rights law – time to stop making excuses about lack of equal access for all people at hospitality properties.

Beds & Pillows: Awful beds in both the master and second bedroom. As if broken down, too soft and “creaky”. Pillows were marginal too. We were eager to leave both behind!

Carpets: Needed shampooing!

Wifi: Very slow in unit, in fact perhaps the slowest service of any we experienced during a month long vacation at various properties.

Restaurant: Just a “HEAD’S UP” - at certain times of the year, as in January when we were there, the on site restaurant is closed three or four days a week. Mattered not to us as we wouldn’t have used it anyway, but if it matters to you to have food service on site, need to know this in advance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank piacere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We have been loyal supports of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch for years, BUT in the past year with mangement change things have gone down hill. Front desk staff use to be very polite, not so much this last year or so. Our last visit three of three hot tubs were not working, even though maintenance tried to tell me the cloudy murky water was OK in one. There is usually at least one down everytime we go. Things such as curtains were in need of repair. Outdoor patio on more than one occasion needed cleaning. Lots of wasp nest on patio needed to be taken care of. Housekeeping should make maintenance aware of this. The main pool they clean in the morning ONLY. If there is a little wind or rain they will Not touch it again. May think of a little touch up if you have the whole day in front of you. The lazy river very cold even though they say it is heated. But after spring break it was like bath water showing they did finally heat it for spring break. What about the customer that comes other times of the year. We all know summer is not a problem in the Texas heat. All things point back to management and training. This is a great resort if run properly. We hope things will improve and we can enjoy this property for many more years.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chesterTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
175 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch is a very, very nice place. But the reason I chose the title for this review is that it may not be for everyone. Our unit and the grounds were meticulously clean and manicured. The landscaping is very attractive, as are the outdoor amenities. We stayed there for a week in January 2012 as a time share swap. This resort is clearly designed for families, but it was very quiet and I think pretty underbooked at this time of year. I imagine there'd be a LOT more action during the summer when families vacation. I wish it had been warm enough to float around in the Snake River since it looked like it would be very relaxing. The heated pool extends from the indoors to the outdoors, separated by huge garage doors. While the indoor pool is clever and includes some water features, it's not exactly "pretty". They're going for a light-hearted Texas farm look with materials such as metal roofs and corrugated steel. We had a very spacious two-bedroom, two-bath unit, with a well-equipped kitchen and comfortable beds. We did not try the on-site restaurant. The small restaurant, bar, and shop on the grounds were looking mighty lonely the mostly chilly week that we were there. Outdoors, behind the restaurant there is an enormous, beautiful patio area containing a huge fire pit in the center and four smaller ones around edge. We got in late each evening from sightseeing and were not able to check out the fireside activity. Some people think that the Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch is far removed from San Antonio. That depends on where you're going and what you're doing. It's probably a 20-minute drive to downtown. We could see the city and the Tower of the Americas in the distance from our unit's balcony. We took drives out into the hill country as well as into San Antonio, so the resort's location was not a problem. I think this resort probably has a considerably different vibe depending on the season in which you're visiting.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelin_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This property has great pools (tubing on the 'river' was great fun for mom who hasn't been in a swimsuit in years), a nature walk, a convenience store that has a surprising amount of goods for reasonable prices, a bar/restaurant, and lovely condos. We had a 2-bedroom unit that was very nice. Bonus that it had a washer/dryer in the room. It's only about 15-20mins from Lackland AFB and not too far from Rudy's BBQ and a mall complex. I'm hoping to stay again next year!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Char977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We found our 2 BR 2 BA condo very clean, spacious with lots of attention to detail (soaps, 3 flat screens, ipod/radio, blender, washer/dryer, except we would have liked an ice maker in the fridge - they have ice machine on ground floor). We enjoyed the quiet, end of October week but also found some things closed (like JBs restaurant and the bar by the pools) early in the week, so we had to bring our own (the food/drink at the Ice House is very expensive, there's an HEB within 10 minutes). Easy trips to town after rush hour, a day at the spa at the sister site "Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort" as well as cocktails and appetizers at Charlie's Long Bar over there, a trip to the outlet malls in San Marcos and visit to Johnson City filled out our week. We were a bit confused about room cleaning - only towels replaced and garbage emptied on a daily basis, total room cleaning on Tuesday with change of sheets, dishwasher started, etc. Having to be out by 10 a.m. seemed a bit early with check in at 4pm. The area seems remote with not many restaurants nearby (Rudy's BBQ was a casual option) but there is a lot of construction so plans for more development are in the works.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamm333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Mixed feelings regarding this timeshare stay. Still great Hyatt amenities, but....We went to San Antonio mostly to sightsee and explore. We wanted to see the Alamo and Riverwalk. We had not investigated the area all that much before we went and did not realize that the Hyatt property was so far out of the downtown area. The Alamo and Riverwalk are right downtown. Wild Oak Ranch is about a half hour - or maybe 45 minutes- out of town. Do not go in either direction during rush hour. Whew!
We felt that this Hyatt property did not live up to our other experiences with Hyatt. Only one of the two restaurants were open while we were there. The second smaller one, the grill, only opened at lunch and with very limited choices. The lazy river/pool area is quite large (and fun) but could have used a full time staff and an open bar/grill. The gym was well apointed and clean.
There were a few "mixers" for owners/guests that were really fun - We loved S'Mores night around the campfire. I think this would be a better vacation destination for families with kids that just want to hang out at the pool/lazy river (complete with inner tubes) and not do much else.

Room Tip: This timeshare is really like one big multi story condo - not sure what I would consider a "goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Critter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,995 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 355 in San Antonio
1,575 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Property: Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Address: 9700 W Military Dr, San Antonio, TX 78251-1754
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing