We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont miss this part of San Antonio”

La Margarita Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
La Margarita Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dont miss this part of San Antonio”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Plan on spending three to four hours shopping the air conditioned mexican market. Everthing that is the markets in Mexico are within a feet of the resturant. Clothes, leather, carvings, etc all there. Shop then relax with a great meal with live music and shop somemore.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiburonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    349
    157
    51
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Festive Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The margaritas are good, the TexMex is good, great salsa and chips and you are adjacent to The Market. You can stroll the booths, shop for treasures from Mexico (a marble chess set for $40) and walk off the food at the same time. Love the puffy tacos, cheese enchiladas with chili con carne and guacamole. Portions are large. The restaurant is decorated in a festive manner and the strolling mariachis add to the atmosphere (beware: you need to pay the mariachis if you request a song.) It is a regular stop when I'm in San Antonio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoMOtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This restaurant was very good and fast! Our Food was great and the service was fast! HUGE TEXAS size portions and just great tasting Mexican food! I will go back for sure!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSkis1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cool Tex Mex”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Great Blood Orange Margarita to start off. My wife and I shot from the hip a little too much on this meal. We ordered some sort of special queso, thinking it would be melted, which it was not. It was a cold dry queso. They also claim to be the home of the sizzling fajitas. We ordered shrimp and need fajitas which didn't come out sizzling. Other tables had sizzling fajitas, so we weren't sure what we did wrong. Read the menu carefully.

Despite our mistakes, the food was still excellent. Very flavorful. Atmosphere was vibrant and fun, with mariachi bands making their circles. This restaurant left us pleased for our first meal in San Antonio

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knox H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mid range Tex Mex”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

San Antonio has its own unique approach to TexMex, La Margarita is OK, not too memorable, but they will serve a reasonable dinner, good salsa and chips. I was in town for a conference and just about every place was jammed, so I was just happy to get a place at the bar, a beer and some standard Mexican plates.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tennisplayer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Margarita Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Margarita Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing