We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the real deal for Mexican food.”

Don Pedro Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #1,683 of 4,628 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Harlandale
Bronx
Level Contributor
200 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“This is the real deal for Mexican food.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently visited Don Pedro restaurant on a recommendation from My Holiday Inn Hotel desk clerk. This turned out to be a great restaurant. The interior is well decorated and inviting. There is a nice bar by the entrance if you need to wait for a table. On this night we were seated right away and served two different salsas one hot and one mild with plenty of tortilla chips. Our waitress named Issy was super friendly and made several food recommendations which were absolutely some of the best Mexican food I have had. I would tell anyone in the area to stop here for a wonderful meal that is inexpensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tex Mex regular.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

#1 Mexican Plate includes two cheese enchiladas smothered with chili con carne, one beef puffy taco, rice and Refried beans, two flour tortillas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertAlva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Many of my guests are looking for a restaurant that is NOT a chain but a place run by local and that the locals choose to frequent. Don Pedro's is the place for home cooked Tex Mex meals, snack and margaritas. Look for mariachis on weekends and a lively atmosphere with all the classic Mexican dishes as well as some American standby meals. Don't worry, unless the menu specifies "HOT" the dish is mostly mild but can be spiced up to your preference with their delicious salsa. Moderately priced and open very late.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Happy Happy Hour!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great service and cheap good food in this casual mom & pop locale. We ended up eating here twice on our trip to SA.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Casual Mexican where you will find tons of locals who KNOW Mexican food. Really good margaritas to get you started and a good appetizer selection. If you love piping hot melted cheese than they have a great appetizer for you. Had a steak combo with cheese enchiladas. Very good and great price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pedro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Don Pedro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing