We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery

Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #28 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

As soon as you walk in they have a display of candy and baked goods. The place was well decorated. The staff was very courteous. We didn't have to wait long for our waitress to bring our drinks and take our order. The food was brought out in about 5 minutes. Thats pretty fast. Everything looked good and tasted good. Definitely will be going back the next time we are in San Antonio.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Israel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,196
    1,396
    631
    201
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Converse, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“High price Tex Mex”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This place has a great location near the market square and the atmosphere is nice however that's where the good things end. There are so many good mom and pop Mexican restaurants in San Antonio that charge a lot less. I ordered the Mexican plate with the steak and it was terrible. They show a picture on the menu of this great looking steak but when I got it looked HORRIBLE! I paid almost $17 for it. I was in the area at the time with some friends and thought we'd try it but I can tell you we will never go back again. Waitresses were not friendly either.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arlyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
204 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mexican food in San Antonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

In town for convention. Asked Mexican policeman where to eat good and local. He happily recommended breakfast at Mi Tierra Café. Even walking 5 miles through town, was well worth the visit. Colorful, lively and fabulous food. Mojito was outstanding. Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed breakfast twice while visiting San
Antonio, it was that good!

The restaurant/bakery has been in operation since the forties, and it's run by Mexicans. The service was excellent, as was the food. The atmosphere was also very enjoyable. Very relaxed staff, but very efficient.

The décor was also authentic, and very entertaining.


You must visit Mi Tierra if you're in the San Antonio area!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HarveySm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun with Be a”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The service was impeccable and the food was delicious and exactly as we ordered....it was New Year's Eve and the restaurant was full of joy and decorations were festive....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JULIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing