We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A TexMex treat...”

Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #28 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Lake Waukomis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A TexMex treat...”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Exhausted from our long cross-country drive through Mexico, we checked into our hotel and walked across the street to the historic Mi Tierra Cafe at San Antonio's Market Square. We arrived just before 7pm on a Saturday night, and weren't surprised that it would be a 30-45 minute wait, so we ordered their famous margaritas in their Margarita Bar, however, we were called in less than 15 minutes!

We were seated in a comfortable booth, amid fun Mexican decor and roving mariachis. Our excellent server Cynthia handled a very large party and another table in addition to us, yet she repeatedly checked on us, so we never wanted for anything.

My fajitas were a touch disappointing only because they didn't arrive "sizzling", but they were quite good, and included a cheese enchilada in addition to fajita veggies and beans and rice. The beef enchiladas were rolled in red corn tortillas, and were also quite good. We're definitely back in the U.S., as the servings were quite large!

This restaurant is open 24 hours, and serves many breakfast items as well as offering a bakery with scrumptious pastries. We enjoyed our dinner so much that we returned the next morning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,318
    1,456
    658
    207
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Long history but still worth it......”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I first visited this restaurant over 30 years ago and have dined there possible 10 times since. My last visit before this one was approximately 5 years ago. At that time I would describe it as 'tired'. It had come to be a bit touristy with the VAST majority of diners there from out of town on reputation alone.

I was quite surprised to see and fell a new energy! I only travel business on weekdays and was happy to see a small line to get in. Their menu is strictly Tex Mex but very well done. Prices are very reasonable ranging from $9 - $16 per entrée.

Guacamole is primo! I got the most expensive entrée that is a traditional Mexican platter with a small ribeye steak. Salsa is pretty spicy but very flavorful.

The bakery is right out front and has a good selection of traditional pastries. The bar is a classic Mexican bar that would be found in the nicer hotels of Mexico.

The wait staff is very attentive and upbeat. Definitely worth a try on your first visit to San Antonio and an occassional visit if a frequent visitor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyG540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and very good service”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The food here is wonderful and the service is pretty good, too. We went with a group and had several large groups ahead of us. Despite all of that and the fact that we went right during lunch, we were seated very quickly and food came quickly as well. Portions and good and the atmosphere is good, too. I grabbed a couple items from the bakery to go, which I highly recommend. An all-around good time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eimile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Laredo, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place and its a 24hr open joy”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I know that one or manye say, if you are from MExico, why go to a mexican restaurant when your are in a trip, well its to keep in touch with home, and this place makes sure one feels that home cooked meal, it even has it own bakery :), my entire family was happy with the choice of eating there. Its opened 24hrs so that a plus for those that want something late at night. Its gets packed really fast during breakfeast hours so be ready, the bar area well it just hits 12 and people comes charging in for some of their margaritas and the bakery well the line never stopped, get to some of traditional like empanadas. I will go back again and next time I will enjoy the bar area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Aahhh, Mi Tierra. You just have to go.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Aahhh, Mi Tierra. Over the top colors and lights, a continual parade of locals and tourists, mariachis singing in the background and good texmex comfort food. Brings back warm memories of many previous visits with family over the years.

Today it was enchiladas verdes con pollo, an excellent choice! Great flavor! Guacamole a bit thin but fresh, typical rice and beans.

Also Tacos de Mercado with Chicken fajitas, came wrapped in foil rather than on a comal, so not quite as flavorful. Borracho beans were excellent.

Yes, its touristy, yes, its often crowded, but if you have never been or have visited a 100 times, you just have to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing