We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go early”

Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #29 of 4,602 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
151 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Go early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a very good place to eat. The atmosphere was festive- even at 2:30 in the afternoon. We had a serenade by a couple of guitar players before we ate for a small additional charge. ($6). Not getting that at any place near here, that's for sure.

The food was very good and tasted authentic. From what I read on previous reviews, it gets crowded for lunch and dinner, so we went in between and were seated right away and ad our food in around 10 minutes.

My only regret was that I didn't get anything at the giant bakery in the lobby. Well there's always next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,249
    1,432
    653
    203
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious, but not the best in SA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family enjoyed dining here - fun atmosphere, authentic food, fresh tortillas, strolling band, etc. I just sadly think that there are many other restaurants that are better in San Antonio. The salsa was very bland (not what you would expect in San A!) and my husband had to ask for something hotter. What they brought was delicious & I would highly recommend requesting it. Any other place in America, this would be phenomenal food. In a city with so many wonderful Mexican restaurants, this will not come out on top. The ambience is fun & festive. If you're in the market area and it's handy - I highly recommend it for lunch. Also - I took an order of flan back to the hotel. It was delicious, but had cinnamon in it. Overall - a nice meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Okieqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Lake, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

It ha been a few years since I have eaten here, but being in San Antonio I had to check it out. Hospitality was great from the person who welcomed us at the door to the wait staff and the music people. I have been missing some good Mexican food as the last few places I have been was below pa as far a I was concerned. I was not disappointed. The chips and salsa were excellent and my enchiladas were out standing. I ate the whole thing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Mi Tierra Me Gusta Mucho!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

One of my favorite destinations in San Antonio. It is the tourist restaurant if you want to be entertained, listen to live music, sample authentic Mexican pastries, eat REAL Mexican dishes and drink great margaritas. There are soooo many rooms in this place you can never see everything in just one visit. Everything is fresh and hand-made.The place is open 24 hrs and is always packed for a reason. Good food, good drinks, good atmosphere, but it is Mexican, not Tex-Mex, not Latin, not Taco Bell. Get the Don Julio margarita, pay the mariachis to play "Blue Spanish Eyes", try the tamales, dip the hand patted tortillas in the fresh guacamole, queso, and salsa, try the chile toreados, and definitely have a sopapilla for dessert. Why come to San Antonio if you don't want to indulge and have fun?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXEyeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“What can you say? It's always the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I never get tired of eating at Mi Tierra when in San Antonio. 24 hours of great food (chilaquiles famosos with carne de res--wow!), mariachi, and tons of baked goodness. Love it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hitxrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing