We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Atmosphere, Average Food”

Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #28 of 4,597 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Paragould, Arkansas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere, Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Food was a little pricey, but the atmosphere is very authentic. The homemade flour tortillas were a plus and the rice was very tasteful. The salsa was average, reminded me of salsa out of a jar. The food could have used a little more cilantro and spices. Very quick on getting food served and temperate of food was good. Our waiter was very attentative and helpful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,245
    1,431
    652
    203
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don;t miss the bakery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Over the years of conferences in San Antonio, I've stayed at the Wyndham St. Anthony on Travis and taken the trolley to Mi Tierra. On my most recent visit, I introduced my wife to the restaurant and the bakery. She normally frowns on me buying and eating pasteries; but after she tasted some of the variety at Mi Tierra, we purchased an assortment to eat in the mornings with coffee at the hotel and enough to carry home to enjoy. Unlike usual bakeries, the pastries here are not loaded with sugar, but retain a great taste and freshness. The restaurant is most always busy but worth the wait. While obviously touristy, the food and the service are excellent. The location is next to the flea market which is worth wandering through before dinner. We will return again on our visit to San Antonio

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainRonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place is the best breakfast place ever in San Antonio. Homemade flour tortillas, excellent barbacoa and menudo. Yummy yummy!!!! The place is clean and the staff they do their best. It's always busy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Food Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The food here was great. I ordered Beef Enchilada Dinner
2 Beef Enchiladas topped with Chili Meat Gravy and Cheddar Cheese. Served with Spanish Rice and Refried Beans for $11.95 and I was full for 8 hours. The unlimited homemade chips and salsa was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank roncee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

While the food is good, the place is unique inside and well worth the trip. I was in town on business and we took a group of almost 150 there for drinks and dinner. We were at the bar before dinner and a manager opened up the back room (dance room?) for us because we had so many people. Very cool place. the entire place has a nice authentic feel. But what really makes the trip are the people. They are so nice and fun that I will go back on my next trip for sure.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stlscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing