We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but prices have gone up!”

Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #27 of 4,633 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food but prices have gone up!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The Mexican food here is delicious. However, we were disappointed with how much the cost has gone up since last year. But great food and service. Best place to eat at the market. Best margaritas too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbk96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,357
    1,481
    669
    210
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Yummy bakery and good Mexican food.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were seated immediately on arrival and our food was quick to arrive. Although it was only the tail end of October, the restaurant was fully decorated with little Christmas trees complete with red, green and yellow lights. The electric bill must be astounding! Our service was good and the food was good. Mariachi are onsite for your added pleasure. This restaurant is open every day of the year all day. 24/7/365

The bakery has some very tasty, if not super sweet, treats as well. We thoroughly enjoyed the taste treats we purchased for later.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dune acres indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Feast for the Senses”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Mi Tierra is located in Market Square, a bit west of the Riverwalk, easily accessible by the city's free shuttles. The interior decoration has to be experienced to be believed. Millions of tiny lights, paper creations and Mexican artifacts cover the ceilings and almost every other surface not used for dining. It's wild.
The food is good, but not as spectacular as the surroundings. The chips and salsa were ordinary. I had pork tips in a rich sauce that was lacking the requisite depth and heat. The accompanying frijoles, with more than a hint of smokey bacon, were wonderful. My wife tried a special goat dish that disappointed -- too much bone and connective tissue, not enough meat.

The restaurant was packed and we waited for ten to fifteen minutes, but the service was efficient and pleasant, if a bit harried at times. Our waiter seemed genuinely concerned to make our visit a positive one. A unique dining experience, if only for the over-the-top ambiance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayclay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican Meal w/ questionable service”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Service is King and while I can sympathize with being busy, that is no excuse for poor service. 2 trips here and both times the majority but not all of the staff seemed to struggle with managing the huge customer load (by taking out their frustrations on other customers). The food was extensive and mostly plentiful and tasty. The notable exception was the bowl of guacamole (as was listed on the menu) that was filled with shredded lettuce with only a small spoonful of actual guacamole on the top. Disgraceful. The only other cautionary note is the mariachi (more like roving guitar players) that complained about my tip, on top of paying for a song, by saying that he "had to raise a big family" while he stood there and begged. Wow. Aside from those negatives, Mi Tierra is a decent place to go for a San Antonio meal, close to the Riverwalk (about 1/2 mile walk?) and large enough for a big party. If it is a busy weekend or if a big convention is in town, be prepared to wait (they have a big bar).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miraval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great is for the price”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My DH and I found out about Mi Tierra by visiting trip advisor. We ordered the Deluxe plate and it was enough for us to share. The menudo was really good, great flavor, I just thought it was pricey for the portion we got. Over all we had a great experience and went back the next day for lunch.

When I came back home I told my mom about it was the same place she was trying to tell me to o but could not remember the name.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing