We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruth's Chris is Consistently Great”

Ruth's Chris Steak House River Walk
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House River Walk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Bowie Street
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House was founded May 1965 in New Orleans by Ruth Fertel. Enjoy award-winning cuisine and gracious hospitality. Sizzling morning, noon and night, a delicious breakfast is offered 7:00AM 7 Days a Week. Enjoy an expansive Breakfast Buffet. Lunch is available daily with a full menu including a Prime Burger and sliced tenderloin sandwich. Enjoy dinner in the upscale dining room or on the patio and enjoy a range of entrees from the finest USDA prime steaks to the freshest seafood and poultry, side dishes, unforgettable desserts and an award winning wine list. Private dining rooms available for groups of 10-200.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ruth's Chris is Consistently Great”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I wasn't sure if the food would be the same high standard given it was New Year's Eve. We chose the fixed price meal and were not disappointed. No one cooks a steak like Ruth's Chris. The butter does something special for the flavor of the steak. The restaurant is down the escalator from the Grand Hyatt lobby or you can enter from the Riverwalk.

Our waiter was a real professional and managed to keep all the balls in the air - the place was packed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    112
    58
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LAS CRUCES
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great but expensive”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had the pitite fillet and lobster tail. Very tasty also very expensive since everything comes al la carte.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank judie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Poor Service - Call Jack Diegel of Restaurant Stakeout”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Ruth's here in SA. We had wanted to visit for many years but only recently did they add lunch which is our only choice. valet parking was free. we were seated immediately. water was served and the menus delivered. our waitress (Irene) was odd from the beginning. she took our order of salads and crab cakes. I think she only 'waited' on the table that ordered bit ticket items. we did not get bread/butter while everyone around us had their within minutes. before our salads arrived I asked her for some bread and she said 'I go get it. 10 minutes later our salads arrived and still no bread. I asked on of the bus boys and he brought it. we never say irene again until she brought the bill. even the manager worked some of the tables around us but did not give us the time of day. i think Irene would be better suited at some lower class restaurant chain where you kind of expect POOR SERVICE.
First and Last visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valann38
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Poor service. Food mediocre. ”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced. Steak ordered medium. Came raw. Tasteless and cold. Potatoes were cold and McDonald's fries would have been better. Spinach tasteless. Service awful. Waited one hour fir dessert. Never did get coffee. Save your money and go to Texas Roadhouse instead.

Helpful?
Thank veglover38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, Idaho
2 reviews
“Rip Off with a Capital R!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had previously eaten at a Ruths Chris Steak House in Utah and enjoyed it. Pricey, yes, but the food was great and my spouse and I had a wonderful time. Ruth's Chris SteakHouse in Downtown San Antonio is another matter all together!!!!. There were 5 in our part. The menu was a set "banquet menu" with few options. Other than the proteins the sides were very confusingly served "family style" We saw "our" waiter twice and when we did ask for clarification on this VERY confusing style of dining, we were told it would be looked in to. However, no one showed up to explain a thing. I had asked to keep my wine list as I wanted a glass of bubbly with my salad and a red with my beef. Another waitress came to me table and simply took the wine list, never bringing it back. The food was marginal at best. Most of our steaks were not cooked to the proper temps (not even close)... And for all of this trouble and confusion, we were presented with a bill for $499.57. All of this for 5 small salads, 5 small and ill repaired steaks, "family style" creamed spinach and mashed potatoes 5 pieces of cake and one glass on Sparkling wine. In a nut shell. It TOTALLY STUNK! I will NEVER go back and definitely DO NOT recommend this restaurant!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House River Walk also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House River Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing