We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Score for brochettes tropicales!”

Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #93 of 4,633 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Score for brochettes tropicales!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Enjoyed a great meal with friends. Not so hot on the puffy tacos but we really loves the brochettes tropicales. Sangria margaritas were excellent. Actually appreciated that the chip bowls were small and chips were locally made.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenEricTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    59
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

fantastic food, great service, cool atmosphere, good value. A must visit. Our waitress let me pick and choose and make my own platter. Everything was so good. Try the avocado salad and don't forget the chimmichurri sauce on the table with the fresh tortillas......yum!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geecall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service ever!!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Chips and salsa for 30 minutes with no water - Me and my wife went to have dinner friday night. We asked for a table at the patio. Right away a waiter brought chips and salsa but that was it. After almost 30 long minutes nobody came to our table not even to ask if we would like something to drink. So for 30 minutes we sat there eating chips and salsa without a drink. There was a waiter that brought the dinner for a table right next to ours and he didn't even look at us. WHAT A TERRIBLE SERVICE!!! First time there and for sure the last time

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Favorite Mexican Restaurant. The food is fantastic and the service is great. This is one of the best family run business in San Antonio. Recommend to everyone and they all come back saying "El hombre que era bueno1"

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexRGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Puffy Tacos”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Finally can cross the Puffy Tacos off my bucket list. (From the show Throwdown with Bobby Flay). Enjoyed a late lunch here with good friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing