We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing puffy tacos- below average everything else”

Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #93 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Irving
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing puffy tacos- below average everything else”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Salsa excellent, chips were stale and way too thick. The sopapilla was great. Prices were average.

I made the mistake of ordering enchiladas rancheros. The sauce was like marinara straight out of the jar with no salt. They used the same ranchero sauce on my fiance's burrito, blah. My mom and brother ordered the puffy tacos which redeemed the meal. Fantastic. Lesson learned, order the dish the restaurant is famous for, otherwise you will be sorely dissapointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    59
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bland mexican food”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We tried this place because it was incredibly packed! But when I actually tried the food, it was just bland, overall tasteless food! I have never gone again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had lunch w/wife and 2 business associates/friends. Quick sitting, quaint and amiable settings, good service, and good food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dewey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Family Owned, Cut Above Average, A little noisy sometimes.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

First I must say this is a overall wonderful Mexican Cuisine place to eat, a little off the tourist trail but a good choice. The recipes are their old family favorites and there is always a friendly family ownership representative on hand. Food servers are very courteous and knowledgeable, which counts unless you know your way around a Mexican kitchen!

Background noise at times can be pretty loud due to the architecture and decor; lovely to look at but hard surfaces do bounce those sound waves. Inside there is some kind of commercial music service playing non-mexican music and that adds to the noise :-) However, there is an outdoor patio and if it is not too hot that space will be more quiet.

All considered it is a good place to eat that is honored by the locals and especially families. The location is 4223 Blanco Road 78212 ... 210-732-6017

Buen Provecho!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Longfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The food & service were amazing! I requested to sit on patio because I needed to watch my vehicle & they accomodated me even patio was closed! Went twice in 2 days & both servers & food were outstanding! If your in SA...its a must!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Myfatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing