We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a try... You won't be sorry!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bun 'N' Barrel

Bun 'N' Barrel
Ranked #1,813 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Give it a try... You won't be sorry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I had the spicy Thai burger and my husband had the Carlos angus burger and both were full of flavor. They are large so we are going to share next time. Overall experience will bring us back for more!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingLeigh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    31
    21
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've been wanting to try Bun N Barrel for some time now...I loved it! I had the Brisket Sandwich which was very tasty. I loved the bun it was served in. I tried the spicy BBQ sauce because I saw the owner make it on Triple D...it was as good as I imagined it to be. Onion rings were good, and drinks were large. Friendly waitress, and I liked the atmosphere. Will be going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nbgal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not that great.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We ate in the diner and had the fried catfish and a fish sandwich. The hush puppies had no flavor and the fish was ok. Service was slow and we were 2 of 4 people in there. Guess we had higher expectations of flavor and selection since it was on Triple D.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willstravels_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We were very pleased with the quality and quantity of our meal. The place was not busy, and the service was quick, courteous, and accurate. The BBQ ribs were meaty, smoky, and juicy. The beef was fall-to-pieces tender. The potato salad is supposedly something they are famous for. It was good, but it didn't knock our socks off.

All in all, some of the best BBQ we've had recently. I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
730 reviews
596 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Set the WABAC Machine Sherman!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

"Set the WABAC Machine for the 1950's Sherman" - this San Antonio icon that could have been in the movie "Back to the Future" was a traditional BBQ spot and Friday night hangout for local high schools in its heyday, particularly Jefferson. It is the quintessential drive in from a bygone era where having wheels meant everything to the teenager and their place to show them off was here. It's the big city version of a Dairy Queen in a small town on Friday night.

Teenagers now find it boring to swarm a drive-in on a Friday nite. No more crowds of kids from rival high schools "peeling out" in the parking lot. And maybe that's a good thing - I still like to come here for the burgers and Q which are somewhat average. But it is more about experiencing a piece of San Antonio history that I enjoy - the last of a dying breed of restaurants here. So, if you are looking for a gourmet bison burger or Lockhart level BBQ, you set your WABAC machine for the wrong time and place Mr. Peabody!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bun 'N' Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Bun 'N' Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing