We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for large groups!”
Review of Big Lou's Pizza

Big Lou's Pizza
Ranked #51 of 4,642 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for large groups!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

LOVED IT! Their pizza is awesome! Thin crust, good sauce and lots of cheese! Plan on waiting a while, they can get really packed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorko135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    153
    48
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
“Wow! What a fun, yummy place”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A fantastic place for big parties. The atmosphere was lively but over bearing. There was 9 of us and we and we spent about $16 a head: drinks, sandwiches, and their 42" pizza... there was so much food left over. We could have just order the 42" and that would have been enough.
One member of our party ordered the White Pizza, it was one of the best White Pizza's I ever had. Big Lou's is fun and pretty good food... it's not NY pizza but it was good, was it's own style.
We for sure recommend this place, especially if you have a big party.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank australianscent7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza !!!!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

TEXAS size pizza !!!!!!!

Staff: good but not great

Facility: clean, 2 bars and 4 dining areas

Location: in a bad part of town but off duty San Antonio police officers are the prime security element on the location and maintain a great presence

There is a line when you first arrive inside but it only last about 15minutes before you place the order, and given a pager. Then you wait for another 10-15 minutes to be seated once your pager is active. At your table it's another wait for 15-20 minutes for the TEXAS size pizza. All in all it is a pizza joint everyone must experience !

Helpful?
Thank team2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“This was the best pizza ever!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We saw Big Lou's on Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives and knew we had to try it. And we were not disappointed. We arrived around 6:15 for dinner and glad that we did at the perfect time as the line was not too long. You wait in line and order at the register. You are then waited to be seated, once seated they brought our salad, which was big enough for two people. It was wonderful! The pizza was then brought shortly thereafter and it was awesome! It was thin crust, but not too thin for us. Big Lou's is a huge place also, and when we left around 7:30 the line was out the door just to order! It was crazy! Big Lou also came by our table and asked how everything was, which was very cool! We will be going back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mxlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big Lou's Pizza is YUMMY!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pizzas are unique and though large, no skimping on ingredients...oh and their calzones are just as good...I am a repeat customer...all to the gym I go, so I can continue to enjoy and indulge at Big Lou's!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barginqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Lou's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Big Lou's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing