We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough meat!”

County Line Barbeque- River Walk
Ranked #84 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Port Lavaca, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tough meat!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The famous beef ribs were a little tough, brisket was flavorful but a little dry. Potato salad here is awesome. Be careful with the strawberry margarita, it packs a punch!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    456
    343
    133
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“GREAT authentic Texas food!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had to get at least one meal that was traditional BBQ. There were SO many restaurants on the RIverwalk (lots of Mexican) and we wanted to make sure that we made a good choice, so we asked some locals and they recommended this place. My husband and I are not big meat eaters, so most of the time, BBQ is wasted on us. This was some of the most tender meat I have ever eaten. The chicken was moist and delicious and I never knew brisket could be so tender! The freshly baked wheat bread with honey butter was to die for! If you are looking for authentic Texas BBQ - this is the affordable place to find it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank emmbeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Never got the entree after waiting 45 mins! We did get the starter salad to share and a chunk of dark bread (they were out of the homemade stuff they recommend) ... Tables around us were served and in fact most had their bills already! Waiter seemed surprised that we didn't get our meal and twice came by to tell it was coming but never once offer to refill our water or take a drink order! Wouldn't go back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, mediocre food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Service was excellent and the atmosphere was a lot of fun. Our meat had a good flavor but was very tough - toughest brisket and ribs I've ever eaten.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B0ilermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fair to avoidable”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Service and atmosphere were great. The brisket tasted like pot roast and I don't know what was going on with the pork ribs. Beef ribs were good. Potato salad was very onion/herbal. Not a good example of Texas BBQ but not the worst i've ever had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eeboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County Line Barbeque- River Walk also viewed

 

Been to County Line Barbeque- River Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing