We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brisket” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rudy's Barbecue

Rudy's Barbecue
Ranked #29 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brisket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I like the brisket. Didn't care for the "chopped" meat. Sweet corn is good. Potato salad is ok, tthe coleslaw is good. The cobbler isnt as good as their other locations

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    196
    60
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
581 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“A real BBQ treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My second time here and I brought my husband. I was last here when my son graduated from basic training. I had the baby back ribs and my husband had the turkey. We ordered one side -- the delicious corn. Just a simple place, nice folks, and real yummy, flavorful BBQ. My ribs were tender, came right off the bone, but were not dried out. I like that the ribs are not soaked in sauce, but you add your own. I'm not a huge sauce person. A sure bet in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rudy's BBQ The Best Place For TexasBQ Beef Brisket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Before every road trip we make to Texas, we search for Rudy's location near our route. If there is no location on or near our route we will detour to another location to enjoy the best Texas BBQ beef brisket. Portions are generous, the prices are reasonable and the food is outstanding. Employees are friendly, courteous and helpful. You just can't go wrong.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MemphisTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Basic, but simply one of the best BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Don't expect much from this small, very basic restaurant in terms of service, location or ambiance.
The promise is simple: the best BBQ! and they deliver!
If you are around San Antonio, trust me and the rest of reviewers, you can´t go wrong here.
Don´t get surprised when you ask for bread and they give you a complete loaf of white bread inside it's plastic bag!
Every time I go to San Antonio I stop here.
Beef Brisket is amazing

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Down to the basic good grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Don't expect silverware or a pretty plates when you visit Rudy's. However, what you do get is lip-smackin' BBQ in a variety of assortments in a pleasantly primative setting. Enjoy the crackling fireplace during wintertime and/or cool lemonade or a cold beer during the summer. Oh, do not forget to order the creamed corn and the peach cobbler. It is simply out of this world. Definately a place to visit for out-of-towners. FYI - military discount is offered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing