We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers the old way in hometown cafes!”
Review of Longhorn Cafe

Longhorn Cafe
Ranked #148 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Far North Central
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Burgers the old way in hometown cafes!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Casual atmosphere and great prices. Saw someone not happy with steak. Hello, u go here for burgers! Ha. And the sides are great. Love the onion rings. Burgers are served on cooked buns that make the flavor of the burger come alive. Order the large baskets of sides. Pick a variety and share. So many good ones so dont limit yourself by ordering side for yourself. My husband had been told to try chili dog. Finally he did, and loved it! The chili was awesome in flavor. We added up cost of dinner and it was no more than going to whataburger and sonic. Remember this is a relaxed atmosphere order up style with great burgers and sides. My fav burger in SA!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACMilanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service was Slow, but Food Good”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I love the seasonings they use on their steaks. Really adds alot of flavor. The restaurant we went to in KC, KS was better, but we'll give this one another try sometime before giving up on them.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch Time!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff where very nice,also fast service.the dinning room was spotless with walls slammed with people.Food was hot and right.The most important thing the food was right and fresh. WOW, Try the fried pickles.lol

Helpful?
Thank TLS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can I have some of your Tots?”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Longhorn Cafe as I remember it was an old school burger joint (Texas Style) up on the North Side of San Antonio on Blanco and 1604. Since I moved away 7 years ago, there are now 5 locations so I'm told. Today I went to the one on Harry Wurzbach which was newer and more modern than the aforementioned one. Burgers are awesome, onion rings awesome, tater tots awesome.... A must do if you're in the mood for an artery clogging delight....Cheers!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Totallynorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good restaurant for a chain”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It has a very nice atmosphere. The service is good, and the food is very good. It can be, and usually is, quite expensive. In my book it falls behind Texas Roadhouse for value, and Saltgrass for quality. Not a bad steakhouse, though. Very comfy place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Longhorn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing