We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home cooked meal for anytime of day”

Magnolia Pancake Haus
Ranked #15 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Level Contributor
83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great home cooked meal for anytime of day”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved our home cooked meal at Magnolias. It's great breakfast food and fun for celebrating any occasion. The only grumble I have us that they won't seat your party until everyone is visibly present. Otherwise I love the food and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    189
    85
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Only Place for a Home Style Breakfast”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, excellent in almost every way. Embassy Row location smaller but less wait than Huebner location. Both equally good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We came for breakfast and our party of 4 was seated quickly. The waitstaff was attentive without being overbearing and accommodated us nicely.

The menu is extensive and covers a wide range of tastes and appetites. Between the 4 of us we ordered omelets, blueberry pancakes, and turkey hash. All were excellent. The food was wonderful and all of the culinary idiosyncrasies of our group (egg whites for the eggs...this condiment on the side...no onions...extra onions...etc) were flawlessly satisfied.

The total cost for breakfast was about $55; very reasonable in our view.

Bottom line: I enjoyed my time there and will definitely return again. I live in San Antonio and this is the best breakfast eatery in our community.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KODB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio de Areco, Argentina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE IF YOU ENJOY BEING TOLD NO!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have enjoyed going to MPH always taking out of town guest to eat there but no more!!! We had a problem with our party and seating I realized that were just a number to them there nothing else and the fact that we waited 50 minutes to be seated makes it worst. There is no flexibility at MPH as we learned no add on orders after your order has been placed don't try pulling up a chair to a corner booth don't bother asking to speak to the manager about anything cause the answer is NO the manager with the poor oral hygiene could only say that's how the owners want it and that how it is. I responded what about the customer the manager pointed out the line of people waiting to be seated as to suggest just suck it up or leave.
The beautiful thing is we have choices where we spent our money an it won't be at MPH it really is just breakfast eggs bacon coffee tons of other places to go too.

The manager was correct about one thing, the line of people wanting to eat was very long but remember you don't lose all your customer all at once you lose them one at a time
Medical location

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2650rub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesomest breakfast :)”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I went to the Magnolia Pancake Haus on Huebner. The wait was long-40 minutes on a sunday morning at 0930, but well worth it. I had the quiche lorraine(so tasty I ate every bit of it) and pancakes( light fluffy delicious!). My son had the eggs benedict which werre outstanding( I of course had to steal bites...) Their omelets looked delicious and HUGE. A man next to us was eating frittata, the presentation was so beautiful I wanted to take a picture of it! I can't wait to go back and try all the other tastiness on the menu!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Pancake Haus also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Pancake Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing