We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont miss the Sarkis omelet!”

Magnolia Pancake Haus
Ranked #15 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dont miss the Sarkis omelet!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Most people will visit Magnolia for the pancakes and the applefrausenplatter (or the german name for it). Well, I have a different recommendation: The Sarkis omelet, with spinach, olives and greek cheese is something you should not miss!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SergioLubezky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    189
    85
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Was looking forward to something really outstanding and got something very ordinary. Was taken here for breakfast as a treat. Waffles with a peach compote sounded very enticing. What I got was an excellent waffle with some sliced canned peaches. Nothing like anything I would consider a compote. It was fine but not what I was lead to believe I should expect. Denny's or IHOP would have been just as good.

Maybe I tried the wrong thing but even my companion who had the corned beef hash was not impressed. Won't be in a big hurry to return.

Can eat just as well elsewhere at less expense and without a wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank southtexasnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place with OK food”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

After hearing about the Magnolia Pancake haus, my friend and I wanted to try these world class pancakes. To my surprise the pancakes tasted to eggie, almost like a custard base pancake. The service was good, friendly, and fast. I would recommend it even thou I felt the pancakes were average at best. I will return to try the Bacon Waffles.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielthelionharted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Food and service could not have been better. Had the banana's foster french toast and was the best I have ever had. My husband had an omelot which was very good and the rye toast was great. Went during lunch hour and had to wait 5 minutes to be seated. Will be going back again. Will be hard to decide whether to get the french toast again or try something different. Wish we had a breakfast place like this near our home. Also, it was not overpriced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVSUgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Absolute Best”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went there specifically to try the Corned Beef Hash and the Apple Pancake breakfast thing that Guy Fieri profiled on his show. NOT TO BE DISAPPOINTED! The Apple Pancake could be a dessert! It was SO GOOD! Not being a huge fan of corned beef hash I must admit that it was delicious. Very cute and clean environment with friendly and attentive staff!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Pancake Haus also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Pancake Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing