We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buttermilk pancakes so tender!”

Magnolia Pancake Haus
Ranked #13 of 4,669 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Buttermilk pancakes so tender!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This place was featured on the Food Network and seemed wonderful so we thought we would stop by. If you're staying near the airport this location will be close by to you. They have wonderful breakfast items here - we had the Eggs Benedict, applewood smoked bacon, hash browns, buttermilk pancake, blueberry pancake and the Crab Louis egg special.
The service is very good here and we were served hot coffee and juice straightaway. The portions are gigantic - so consider sharing or just take the leftovers home (they heated up well the next day in the toaster oven). The Eggs Benedict was wonderful and the buttermilk pancake was so tender it will not soon be forgotten!! If you are more than a party of 2 you need to specify a booth as the table that seats 4 is not adequate space for all the serving pieces of 3 people, let alone 4 people. Specify this preference to the hostess and ask not to be seated next to the table busing area (as we always seem to draw unfortunately - I always feel this is the worst placement - due to all the extra noise of the service area). If you try the Magnolia Pancake Haus - you will really enjoy your breakfast - but be quick about it because they are only open until 2pm - so check the hours first.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MG L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    195
    87
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our next visit!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

There were so many great looking things on the menu we had a hard time deciding. Lots of fresh new ideas on your usually ordinary breakfast items. The Bacon Waffle was light and airy and chocked full of bacon. The sausage tasted either homemade or made from a high quality meat and was delicious. The Banana Foster Pancakes were fluffy and the banana foster topping was thick, sweet and fresh! We can't wait to go back and try more!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2texanstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
1,844 reviews
1,125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Good pancakes”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Went here for breakfast. We shared the banana foster's pancakes and jimbalya omlet with hashbrowns and bacon. The pancakes were good but not enough bananas. The omlet wasn't good. Very plain. The bacon and hashbrowns were good. Their coffee was really good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Best Pancakes”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have eaten at Magnolia Pancake Haus for years and am never disappointed. My favorite is the Old World Buttermilk Pancakes and I always have them with the Whole Hog Sausage. The Sausage is pan style and very large, and with 2 slices there will be plenty to eat. The lines are usually long, so get there early, especially on the weekend. I feel it is a bit pricey, but your portions are definitely not skimpy. The coffee is great, and the menu has many other breakfast and lunch items on it. Back to the Pancakes; I have tried pancakes in dozens of locations and this one is head and shoulders above all the rest. If you love pancakes you will have to come here!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackBauer1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“So-so food in SanAntonio”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had sen this pancake house on TV and decided to check it out on our visit to SanAntonio. I was disappointed. There were lots of people waiting to get in so obviously there were a lot of people who will disagree with this review. The pancakes were pretty good as well as the coffee but while the biscuits were good the gravy was terrible. I hated the hash it was way over seasoned. The eggs and bacon were good but its hard to screw them up. I will say the wait stay was great. I probably will not go back as there are lots of better places to eat breakfast in San Antonio Like Lulus bakery and cafe.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigTex62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Pancake Haus also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Pancake Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing