We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Surprise!”

Sea Island Shrimp House
Ranked #1,839 of 4,739 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Sea Island Shrimp House specializes in wild-caught Texas Gulf shrimp. Guest favorites include Lemon Pepper Fish and Shrimp, Charbroiled Shrimp, Shrimp Salad, Stuffed Shrimp, Shrimp Linguine, and more. We also serve Grilled Salmon, Rainbow Trout, Gulf Oysters on the Half Shell, Catfish, and Flounder, when available. Not a seafood fan? Enjoy our juicy Steaks, Burgers, Beef Kabobs and Grilled Chicken. Soups, salads and a variety of appetizers, including Shrimp Cocktail, Mexican Shrimp Cocktail, Calamari, Ceviche and more keep our guests coming back time after time!
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had not gone to a Sea Island Restaurant in a very long time. I was in for a surprise at this
location. Awesome service along with great seafood and prices. Manager and workers walk around asking if everything was good and what else they can do for you along with offering tea and whatever else you may need. Took advantage of their special, 2 for $17.99, get lots of food, appetizer plus 2 entrees. Will visit this location more often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Birdie925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Owner at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We are so glad to hear you decided to stop in again! Our special is very popular and a great way to try a few different menu items. Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I absolutely loved the Lemon pepper broiled fish. I do not have a lot of experience with seafood other than a Filet o'fish from McD's, so my review might not count too much. I'm trying to eat healthiER and this was awesome. Great place for family, casual atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Can't wait to go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 906dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We are glad you stopped in to try the lemon pepper broiled fish! If you enjoyed this, there are many other selections on our menu you will enjoy. Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

if you want good seafood, prepared anyway you like it, then this is the place. It is fresh seafood and prepared to order. Self service so standing in line is part of it, but it is fast so not standing long...a very popular place all the time.

Thank PrincessSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful recommendation! We are glad you enjoy visiting us and we are happy to accommodate your menu preferences. We hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have always loved Sea Island and were so excited to get one in the Forum close to home. Best fried fish and shrimp you'll find anywhere in San Antonio. Coleslaw is also excellent! Prices are also the best you will find in SA.

Thank teacherhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We are glad to hear you have a location close to home! We enjoy hearing from our loyal customers and sincerely look forward to continuing to serve you in the future. Thank you for sharing your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The motif is old time roadhouse dining. Wooden picnic tables and open seating. Unfortunately the food which is mostly fried holds little flavor for all this frying and is anything but fresh. A single plate will serve all but the hardiest of appetites.

Thank RV9412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We are glad you enjoy the atmosphere and portion sizes! We hope that you will visit again and give our food a second chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Island Shrimp House also viewed

 

Been to Sea Island Shrimp House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing