We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Rosario’s Mexican Cafe Y Cantina
Ranked #25 of 4,642 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Rosario's Mexican Cafe y Cantina serves up traditional South-of-the Border specialties in a contemporary setting. It has consistently been voted Best Mexican Restaurant in San Antonio by local food critics. Come see us soon!
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Drive here when you visit the Kings Williams area. Yummy Mexican food-especially the beans and rice. Very loud, large, and crowded-but that's because the food is so good. Lunch prices are better than dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,011
    664
    226
    61
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winsted
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very authentic!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just about a mile away from the river walk is a wonderful Mexican Restaurant where the locals go.
Their salsa is the best I've ever had,Heaven!
The presentation was excellent and if you are lucky,you will have Primo as your waiter.Ask for him and you will see what I mean.He will complete your wonderful meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary_AnneWinsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great tacos and margaritas”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Had lunch there one Friday afternoon. Bustling place with awesome tacos and killer margaritas. Wish I could go back soon!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BES1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wow! Food at Rosario's is delicious. Service is always great even when they are busy. The wait staff hustles to accommodate all their customers. Bar tenders are friendly and quick to assist you.
Rosario's has one of my favorite roasted chili salsa's, buy a jar to take home. My wife and I have decided that our favorite is the Lengua. The menu describes it as tender tips of beef tongue in a delicately seasoned and simmered light tomato sauce and I would agree. This is now the only item we order, but have tried many of their entrees. Top off your lunch or dinner with some bread pudding as it is very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our valet at Drury Plaza. It is not walking distance from the Riverwalk but it is not a long drive either. I highly recommend it if you have a chance. Our waitress was great and made a recommendation for me at my request. I am not a big fan of chicken breast because they are usually dry and lack taste. However, this is copied and pasted off of there menu and is one of the best Mexican dishes I have ever had. Chicken Chipotle - Grilled chicken breast served on a bed of sautéed spinach and topped with
a creamy chipotle sauce. Served with poblano rice. 11.90
My wife had an enchilada that she also liked and the drinks were good also. They are popular and do get busy so try to go during an off time. They have a small parking lot but are at the edge of a neighborhood so if you don't mind walking a few blocks there is always parking somewhere. Check out their website - www.rosariossa.com

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluestourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosario’s Mexican Cafe Y Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Rosario’s Mexican Cafe Y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing