We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good American-style meal at an acceptable price.”
Review of Luby's Cafeteria

Luby's Cafeteria
Ranked #1,688 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Midtown
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good American-style meal at an acceptable price.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stopped by today for a quick meal with two gentlemen and the food was great. I paid $27 for two people which was a little more pricey than I thought it would be for the style of food, service (it's similar to a buffet line with a tray), and the establishment. The food, on to itself, was very good (8/10), the actual building/decor was on the lower end (5/10), and the service was ok (6/10). Overall, it was a quick fill up stop. Would I go back? Sure, if it was in the way though I wouldn't go out of my way to come here. Average, overall.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    27
    23
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food. Good variety. A little pricey.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A visit to Luby's is almost always a good experience. The food is usually good and the staff is friendly. My only problem with Luby's is the price. Can't afford to eat there very often.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpaso
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Excellent pork chop, vegetables had no flavor or seasoning at, tasted like they were straight from the can. Cake was mot fresh, ice tea was very good. Food only luke-warm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Vegetables”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I frequently get a vegetable plate. Lots of good vegetables. I like the spinish, cabbage, and others. Different vegetables day to day. The Almondine fish is excellent. Wed Kids eat free. Breakfast on weekends is a deal, low cost and all you can eat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OWL78654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lots of choices but every Lubys is different. Some serve you plenty on the plate and others serve you like they are afraid of the serving spoon! Temperature of food is a hit or miss. Many times have sent the food back to reheat. Again every location is different.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanAn2nioTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luby's Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Luby's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing