We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy treat in a neat spot!”

Marble Slab Creamery
Ranked #18 of 115 Dessert in San Antonio
Cuisines: Fast Food
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Tomball, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Yummy treat in a neat spot!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This location is just outside of the mall, on the Riverwalk level. It's a great location if you want to grab a treat and sit outside in the outdoor courtyard area and watch the boats go by on the water.
I was visiting the area and staying in the Marriot Rivercenter, and this was just outside of the hotel. I usually visit a different chain of ice cream parlor at home, because the Marble Slabs near me are not great. This one was different than those near me. The prices were high, but they included unlimited mix-ins and were generous with the scoops. The ice cream tasted fresh as well.

I ordered a malt, and Robert who helped me out was friendly and happy, even during an after dinner rush of customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Overpriced, poor quality of ice cream. They do have a lot of toppings to add to your ice cream, but not a great variety of ice creams. We opted for cones with toppings and a shake. The shake was one of the worst we've ever had. It was filled with air bubbles and had no taste. Servers harried so that may be the reason they're not very friendly. We were at the one on the River Walk, but wouldn't try any others for comparison.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, not great overall though”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Admittedly we have been spoiled by visiting some very lively ice cream venues. I'm thinking back to Coldstone in Naperville, IL where the entire staff sings a song when someone leaves a tip, and a few others where there's lots of good cheer, generous servings and very good ice cream. However we did spend $31 for four ice cream cones, so the bar is set higher. The ice cream was very good, and the selection of specialty ice cream cones & bowls was creative and tasty.

Thumbs down for no water available, unless you buys a $1.50 bottle. Not even a drinking fountain a la Baskin Robbins or Oberweiss. After spending over $7 per cone, that comes across as cheap. Serving size was small, and the single scoop seemed lost in the oversized cones. No one in our party including older teen & young adult daughters finished their cones as they were dry towards the bottom. Last one third of all the cones went in the trash.

Staff was polite but not enthusiastic. Could have been the fact that it was Monday night. But again, for the money we expect more.

We may or may not come back as San Antonio has a lot of other fine choices for desert fare. However, if I get a hankering for birthday cake ice cream with cookie dough, I know where to go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good ice cream”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ice cream was good but a little pricey. Service was great. Would recommend.gggggggggggggoooooooooooooooodddddddddddd

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had ice cream here 3 times during our week's visit. This is a marble slab type ice cream shop. What ingredients do you want in your ice cream? They can blend any combination of candies, syrups or fruits. Yummy, yummy, yummy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melatz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marble Slab Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Marble Slab Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing