We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh seafood!”

Sea Island Shrimp House
Ranked #166 of 4,696 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Uptown Loop
Description: Sea Island Shrimp House specializes in wild-caught Texas Gulf shrimp. Guest favorites include Lemon Pepper Fish and Shrimp, Charbroiled Shrimp, Shrimp Salad, Stuffed Shrimp, Shrimp Linguine, and more. We also serve Grilled Salmon, Rainbow Trout, Gulf Oysters on the Half Shell, Catfish, and Flounder, when available. Not a seafood fan? Enjoy our juicy Steaks, Burgers, Beef Kabobs and Grilled Chicken. Soups, salads and a variety of appetizers, including Shrimp Cocktail, Mexican Shrimp Cocktail, Calamari, Ceviche and more keep our guests coming back time after time!
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were looking for a good, local seafood place on our recent trip to San Antonio. After reading good reviews, we thought we'd give this a try. So glad we did! The atmosphere is very laid back, order at the counter and they call your number. We had fresh oysters, peel and eat shrimp and some of the best lemon pepper fish and shrimp ever-very unique preparation. Definitely need to stop by if you are in the area, we'll definitely be back next time we are there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oktravelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Owner at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are so glad you found us on your travels! It sounds like you got to try several of our dishes and we are so happy you enjoyed them all. Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to your next visit to San Antonio and Sea Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Sea Island Shrimp House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 172 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a very popular seafood restaurant and rightly so. Most meals come with fries and slaw. But you may substitute for no extra charge. Try the sautéed spinach instead of the fries, it is great! Loved the slightly sweet slaw too. The coconut shrimp with special dipping sauce was also a hit along with big yummy hushpuppies. (The regular shrimp plates are not big jumbo shrimp but you can upgrade.) The shrimp salad is very good too, but I got the small portion and felt that the portion was not filling enough. I would prefer more side vegetables instead of one celery stick, three tiny carrots, and a half of a deviled egg. The shrimp salad does come in either a half of avocado or a tomato. The restaurant is constantly crowded and all the seafood is fresh and yummy. You have to order at the counter and pick up your order when called. Worth the wait!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We appreciate all the feedback you provided! Thank you for taking the time to share your review online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I felt like seafood for lunch yesterday while we were out running errands. We came across this restaurant and stopped. The lunch crowd was diverse and trying everything on the menu it seemed. We went for old standbys. She had fried fish with sides of spinach and slaw. I had fried oysters and shrimp with sides of corn and slaw. The meals were served quickly and steaming hot. We enjoyed them so much that we finished what we were served and skipped dinner that evening. If you want tablecloths, servers, and ambiance this is not your place. If you want to have a good lunch at a great price go for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for giving us a try and taking the time to write this online review! We hope to see you and your wife again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an old school San Antonio tradition around since 1965, and they pretty much serve it the same way they did back then--you aren't going to find much that isn't breaded and deep fried--my daughters salmon steak wasn't, but the other fish and shrimp dishes we tried were.
Plus: Generous portions--the calamari appetizer was adequate for our table of 4 by itself. Unlimited soft drink and tea refills. The food was well done for what it was. No need to tip anyone. The Cole slaw was obviously just made in house. Sign up for their mailing list and get free coupons via e-mail. http://www.shrimphouse.com/
Minus: Entirely self serve. McDonalds model: Get in line, order at the counter, go up to the kitchen, bring your trays back to the table, get your own drinks. $12.95 entrée is standard, which is San Antonio for the same price as a sit down full service place. Dated menu.

If you want fried fish and hush puppies, these are good examples. Been at places like it all over the South.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank neuroshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review! We appreciate all guests feedback and will certainly consider what you have mentioned here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Their charbroiled shrimp is worth waiting for. Their hush puppies, fries, green beans or rice are all delicious. This place is an old standby that the locals know and love. It is often that you will be waiting outside for a table. And people don't care because they know it's worth it.

Also, worth noting...shrimp salad is awesome...stuffed shrimp outstanding, seafood platter always a hit, and anything chargrilled is delicious. When I come visit, this is always the place I request to go to. They also take to go orders.

Thank flyin4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan V, Manager at Sea Island Shrimp House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your favorite foods! We are glad you visit us when you’re in town. Thanks for your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Island Shrimp House also viewed

 

Been to Sea Island Shrimp House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing