We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
San Antonio
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great for a quick bite”

Republic of Texas Restaurant on the Riverwalk
Ranked #367 of 5,480 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located on the beautiful San Antonio River Walk, it's open daily 10:00 am until 2:00 am. Whether you crave a half pound hamburger, El Grande Mexican Plate or a Colossal 46 oz Margarita, everything is bigger at The Republic of Texas Restaurant ®. Mosey on down to and experience Texas style dining on the River Walk in San Antonio at The Republic of Texas Restaurant ®.The Republic of Texas Restaurant ®The Republic of Texas Restaurant ® makes its home in the historic Clifford Building. The Clifford building was built in 1893, Mr. R.H.H. Hugmann Architect and Father of the River walk officed in the Clifford Building. Mr. Hugman was the visionary who developed the idea of an enchanting River walk dining venue with a park like atmosphere. Mr. Hugmann cooked up his ideas from his River front office were the Republic of Texas Restaurant ® now cooks up our Texican-American cuisine.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We hd lunch here to kill time before our Riverwalk boat tour. I am glad we stumbled into this establishment.

For lunch my husband had the brisket sandwich with fries and I had the grilled chicken salad with ranch dressing. The plate portions for both were huge. I see why they say "everything in Texas is bigger." The prices were very reasonable. We left extremly satisfied and full.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KompassionateDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 742 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2020

Not a lot of places were open on Christmas Day, but this place was open (thank you since we were traveling and in a hotel) and run over with people. The riverwalk was off the chain crowded on a beautiful night. Service was pretty good and we ate simple, salads and chips and salsa. The salsa was too spicy for our taste, but we managed. Great outdoor seating along the riverwalk is a nice touch for this place too. Overall not bad.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jgwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We had a party of 8 on December 19 and everyone was pretty much in agreement that this place is just ok. The service was truly wonderful and the atmosphere fun, but for the price, the food was just average.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Merranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019

Bartender server, Delilah, at the bar is wonderful, as were the other staff. Friendly, entertaining and great drinks, appetizers were terrific, Excellent, quick and personal service on our visits each day. Highly recommend!!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank inthemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019 via mobile

Food was ok. Visited on 12/8/2019. Service was good but waited FOREVER to get our food. Place was not packed at all for the amount it took. Probably wouldn’t go a second time.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank aileenrdz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Republic of Texas Restaurant on the Riverwalk also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Republic of Texas Restaurant on the Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing