We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't get a real margarita here, but you can have a lot of fun.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #271 of 4,602 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
160 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“You can't get a real margarita here, but you can have a lot of fun.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I asked for a margarita with no sweet-n-sour or mix. Just lime, orange liquor and a good tequila. They had no limes or lemons to squeeze and used "real-lime." However, the bar-keep was quite accommodating and "fixed it" with another pour of tequila. The food was marginal, but the clientele was having a good time, with made dinner more fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    95
    65
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It did not nip me!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Been here for a few days and saw Joe's whilst on the Riverwalk and decided to try it out.
My waitress Luna was excellent although new to the restaurant she was very professional.
I had a bucket of prawns which tastes good and the full lobster which was very tasty.
I went there alone and possibly better to go in a group to get the atmosphere but I had no problems overall with the quality of my food, would I go again probably not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ciaoLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Bad service, long wait, wrong food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

First we were a family of 5, stuck in a corner by the bar. Very tight seating. When beverages were bought out, my youngest pop had no taste... it was charged water. Then we all ordered... wanted one of the specials, but they all had sausage and no substitutes. This was disappointing since it is lent and many folks don't eat meat on Friday. Then our food came out my other daughters food was wrong. The server offered to bring out the right food. Nearly 45 minutes later after the rest of us had already finished eating, the right food finally came. And it was cold.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finger Licking good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place has recently re opened after a major update. Situated on the Riverwalk it has a great location. Servers were still learning their trade but friendly and helpful. Food was fantastic, crab delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly Managers and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am a die hard seafood fan. I went to this Crab shack last summer. Everything exceeded my expectations. The food was great!! The head manager kept coming to our table to make sure everything was going well and was extremely friendly and helpful. Next trip to San Antonio i will be coming back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing