We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pesca on the River

Pesca on the River
Ranked #1,508 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: West Crockett Street
Desert
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Food was decent. Service was good. Food and drinks were over priced for what you got.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CatusDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    6
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horribly apathetic management - but otherwise great food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Awful experience. The food was great, but the service is a travesty to mankind. It's not that the wait staff does not try, they just have no training, no leadership, and nobody in charge. Very pathetic showing by the management. They will be managing a Denny's soon, and will probably get fired for their apathetic , pompous, and callous attitude their, too

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Texastravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
1 review
“small portions - Mediocre Food - HUGE PRICE!!!! = bad value”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We went for dinner but asked for our check after the appetizers showed up. We ordered some calamari and the tuna tartare and a couple of cocktails. There were four small bites of calamari for 13 dollars and two spoonfuls of mediocre tuna in the tartare appetizer for 16 dollars. My margarita was 13 dollars and my wife's raspberry mojito was 18 dollars.

The food WAS pleasing to the eye but they were extremely stingy with the portions and the food was quite mediocre.

As a resident of San Antonio I can assure you there are much better restaurants in the city!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Ostra is located in a very picturesque and quiet area of the Riverwalk. We had lunch there which was very good. We were so impressed with the view and the atmosphere (and the food) that we went back again for their breakfast on a Saturday morning when they offer a buffet. This was our favorite restaurant (though we didn't get to try Las Canarias). The others were just average and so darn loud that we couldn't hear each other.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible food, service. Nice atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

What else needs to be said terrible food and service, beautiful atmosphere.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pesca on the River also viewed

 

Been to Pesca on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing