We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and beats expectations”
Review of EZ's Brick Oven & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
EZ's Brick Oven & Grill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Uptown Broadway
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good and beats expectations”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

EZ's is basically a semi-fast food restaurant that always seems to come out beating my expectations. I don't eat much fast food but I meet a group there about once a month before a meeting and thus I see this restaurant rather regularly. I will be candid, I usually have the bean burger to try to save calories but I do dabble in other items and they are all pretty good and reasonable for the price. The bean burger is healthy and satisfying and great alternative to a regular hamburger. One of the things i really appreciate about EZ's is that they have reasonable, healthy options!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for a healthy quick bite!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

EZ's is a great place to get a tasty homemade healthy meal without spending a lot of time or money. Yes, they have burgers, fries & pizzas hot from a brick oven, but they also have fabulous salads, their famous Alamo Bowl, chicken, and my favorite, rainbow trout. If you are feeling the urge to splurge, get a scrumptious thick milkshake- complete with whipped cream and a cherry on top!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank K Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Quick Lunch”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Went with a group of co-workers while in San Antonio for work.It was recommended by someone in the office. I had the cobb salad and focaccia bread it was decent price and the salad was made fresh. Great family atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MzNikki130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cesar salad and focaccia bread”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great as usual! Love the veggie burgers too! I also like their brick baked pizzas.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Khadija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always been a fan. No longer after the menu and ingredients change”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

What's happened to the menu and fare? EZ's has always been a go to place for great, delicious comfort food. Our return after a several month hiatus left us destined not to return.

Rosemary chicken always been a fabulous entree - delicious focaccia bread and rice, great veggies, and out of this world roasted chicken. Now the brown rice is horrible, as is the tasteless bread.

My wife always has enjoyed the Alamo bowl. However, now it too has brown rice, no cheese, and no pico de gallo. Just left with brown rice, beans, and chicken. Where's the flavor in that?

I asked the cashier about it - evidently the fare has changed - no more options or white buns, different breads, etc. All slanted towards a more 'healthy menu' in his words. The board with daily specials had bison burgers with BBQ sauce and salmon on spinach salad. Almond milk and agave nectar for coffee? At EZ's?

This is not why people have gone to EZ's since it's inception. EZ's has always been a place for burgers, pizza's, chicken tenders, and the like. I grew up going to EZ's, however am no longer a fan or a customer if this trend is to stay.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STXCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EZ's Brick Oven & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing