We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant surprise”

La Focaccia Italian Grill
Ranked #153 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fine Italian dining located in the heart of the Historic King William District in San Antonio, Texas
san antonio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Fantastic food. Sunday 4pm. Special was grill poker chops. Meaty,moist,tender,great sauce, spouse had lasagna,fine layers of noodles w/very tasty sauce. Very friendly staff, great,great service. Only gave a 4 because interior was fairly dated. Cost extremely reasonably, would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    57
    25
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eclectic, fun, and delicious”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

La Focaccia has been a family favorite for several years. We love the kitschy decor...it kind of feels like Phantom of the Opera meets The Addams Family. I've never had a dish that wasn't just out of this world, but our family favorite is the pizza. I love it when the keyboard player is there...it just adds to the eclectic ambiance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VBigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great alternative to overpriced Riverwalk”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Heading south from the convention center, we stumbled upon this place for lunch. Friendly service, great specials, quiet atmosphere, and much lower prices made this a great find. We returned later in the week for dinner. Good pizza, pasta, and salads.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FSanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great food !”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I tried a number of places on the river walk and the food was not good at all. However, found this place next to my hotel and the food was outsdanding ! Highly recommend !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mbateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rude, old, and unpleasant”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited La Focaccia for dinner on a Saturday night, based on what turned out to be a very bad recommendation. We entered the restaurant and waited at the host stand for about 10 minutes without acknowledgement from the staff. Finally we were escorted to our table by a very rude and unpleasant woman. The booth that we sat in was very old and rickety, and the booth chair was wobbly so whenever the person sitting behind me moved, my seat would shake. This persisted through the entire dinner.
Our server was good though and polite. He said the restaurant was understaffed that night, but I think a more likely case is that this restaurant is poorly managed. We both ordered pasta, which was good but not great, and definitely not worth the $14 price tag. Meanwhile I noticed another staff member wiping his nose with his forearm as he walked through the dining room, so that was reassuring.
Overall a terrible experience and La Focaccia probably ranks in our bottom 5 restaurants in San Antonio. Do yourself a favor and stay away - even Olive Garden is a big step up from this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew_sa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Focaccia Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to La Focaccia Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing