We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Sorrento Ristorante and Pizza
Ranked #248 of 4,645 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Alamo Heights
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Just went here this past week based on the reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed! This was definitely one of our fav restaurants of the week. Food was excellent and the best clams linguine I've ever had. Will be back next time we're in town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    18
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went there last Saturday evening. A family restaurant with lots of energy & noise. Many children in the restaurant. Food was excellent. Very southern Italian! Menu was extensive and if Pizza is your thing it is NY style. Overall I would return because of the food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IraW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

If you love mussels you're going love Sorrento's. Garlicky white wine sauce to help get the homemade bread tastier. Yummy! Love everything I order every time.

Helpful?
Thank AAfly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A favorite!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Sorrento's serves consistently good food. We've never had an unpleasant meal or experience here, maybe just a few "less favorite." We almost always start with calamari-- some of the best in town! Not heavily breaded, super fresh, and the sauce is to die for (ask for extra bread, trust me). The pizzas are good, lasagne Della casa is fabulous, cannelloni di manze is also delicious. If you love seafood, order the zuppe di pesce. It's the most expensive thing on the menu at roughly $23, but it's a bargain compared to what other restaurants would charge you for a similar dish of linguini covered in heaping mounds of seafood (it truly is huge!)
As for other reviewers claiming this is "authentic Italian," it really isn't. Not entirely, and not if you've been to Italy. Anyone who's been to Italy knows they don't have chicken parmesan there, that's an American-Italian creation. However, they do have several dishes that do cross the American-Italian line, things you wouldn't find at your Olive Garden (yuck). They have carbonara, which is a favorite in Italy but has an odd "sweet" taste here. Still, all in all, the food is fantastic. If you dine in, you'll be surprised at how many people come in for carry-out alone.
Lastly, it's family owned and operated. I would rather give my dollar to a local family that serves good food made from scratch than some corporate franchise and it's factory made garbage.
Try it, you'll like it, just don't go on Fridays. That's when I go, and I'd hate to see it get so busy that I can't get a table! They don't take reservations unless it's a party of 5 or more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samovila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited Sorrento during our trip to SA. The food was delicious - we had the veal saltimbocca and chicken parmigiana. Our server was very good, attentive. The restaurant was not fancy but the people who kept streaming in during the time that we were there told it all. Very authentic cuisine. Glad that we found it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fillyhsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Ristorante and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sorrento Ristorante and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing