We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”
Review of Magic Time Machine

Magic Time Machine
Ranked #145 of 4,629 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Oak Park / Northwood
Marion, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want to wait two hours to get a table on a week night, this is not the place to go. Then once you get a seated it takes another hour to be waited on this is the place to go. If you oreder a steak rare, be ready to sent the next two steaks back. You will be the only one at the table eating because everyone else has finished their meal.

Helpful?
Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    67
    57
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very dated, mediocre food, but fun for the kids.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try the place for the kids and they did enjoy it. The adults did not. The restaurant was very old, dark and dingy. The food was overpriced and not very good. Our costumed server was entertaining but slow and a little insulting. My advice if you do go would be request Captain Jack, he seemed even more entertaining but also very good at actual serving.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summertravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“greatest fun one can have for dinner but don't be shy”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband took we here during our honeymoon and it was the best. Peter Pan was at reception and Ariel was our waitress. She was the greatest. I asked her to surprise me with a drink and even though I don't actually know what the drink was (because I didn't ask) but it was delicious, and it smoked and bubbled. The entire meal was entertaining, from Katniss and the Mad Hatter embarrassing the life out of two birthday kids, to the weird bathroom songs they sang. It was a blast, definitely dinner and a show. Just take it easy and don't be shy! Have fun with it and it will be the best dinner of your life

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Don't go with a large group”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The director of our group had called ahead at least a week earlier. Was told we would be accommodated. When we arrived, they had no room for us and literally had run out of food. They knew we were coming (reservation was even confirmed that day) and clearly could not accommodate our group. Instead of telling us this so we could make another choice, we waited over an hour in the "lobby" and then they pulled tables onto the dance floor in THE BAR. We had children (a very large group and all very hungry). We felt like we had no choice but to stay and feed them. After another HOUR, we finally saw SOME of the food. Many orders had to be changed due to lack of food and by the time those orders were filled, it was into the third hour. The director never did get her food. She shared some fries with some of the kids. The wait staff did work very hard to help, but the manager never lifted a finger. He should have been waiting tables, himself. This was poor service to the extreme. The director picked this location because of previous fun experiences with a group the same size at the Dallas location of Magic Time Machine. We all felt awful for her as she tried to make the experience fun for the kids despite the unfortunate circumstances. We visited in February of 2011 but the review choices do not allow a choice of that time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ecclectic but oh so nice!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I recently visited the Magic Time Machine in San Antonio. We had been many times before when our kids were young, but decided to give it a try sans the kids. It was a very good time...we will be back. The atmosphere at the MTM is wonderful whether you are a kid or old guy like me. The chaos is a welcoming treat. Just watching the cast of characters was enjoyable as both the staff and many of the customers are entertaining. The prime rib and salmon were quite delicious as well. All in all this was such a nice experience. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewS_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Time Machine also viewed

 

Been to Magic Time Machine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing