We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can afford it go!”
Review of Bella On The River

Bella On The River
Reserve with OpenTable
Bella On The River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 4,628 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: St Mary
Description: We are local and independently owned and feature Southern European, mostly Mediterranean food. Chef Sean Fletcher leads the kitchen crew and with Sous Chef Anthony Grabda has established an outstanding menu focused on creativity, balance, quality, and value. Our small and intimate dining room and wine bar is one of the most unique and special places on the River Walk, San Antonio, Texas, the United States, and maybe the World. It's literally like walking up off the River Walk into a small Spanish bistro or Italian grotto with its natural limestone rock walls, candle-lit tables, and its cozy and comfortable atmosphere. Our professional and friendly staff will always treat you with a 'We Are Glad You're Here" attitude. We are proud to be the 2016 San Antonio Express News Critics' Choice for The Best River Walk Dining! Please join us for dinner.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you can afford it go!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting San Antonio and wanted to enjoy a fresh cooked meal. This restaurant didn't disappoint. Excellent food and service. A little more pricey than we would usually pay but the food didn't disappoint.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    173
    42
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somers Point, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very very good”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although crowded and noisy...best veal I have ever eaten...great paella although a little to much chorizio... still good though. Very good time. Thank you

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mojojo9955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect spot for a date”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were visiting from Virginia and found this charming restaurant and decided to give it a try. The atmosphere was very intimate and the staff very welcoming and friendly. The food was outstanding, my wife and I split an antepasto and paella. We were seated near the piano and we talked with him through the evening. Bella is the perfect spot for a romantic evening or for a delicious dinner

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“3.75 stars”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

this is a good restaurant, not a great restaurant. It is a bit cramped. The food is probably a solid 4 out of 5, but because it is such a small space, once it fills up it does get cramped. Some people may like the live singing. I was a little close to the singer and it was a bit distracting and prevented conversation at the table.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant little restaurant”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had for starters antipasto for two, even that already made us deliciously full and took tong with it. The main courses followed the inspiring taistelu world and we were torakka sold out. The soft background music made the atmosphere just right. Defenitely one of the best restaurants by the river in San Antonio.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Practicenjoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella On The River also viewed

 

Been to Bella On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing