We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be a great place, now a great waste!”

Hung Fong Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #2,148 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Uptown Broadway
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Used to be a great place, now a great waste!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was one of the favorite places to eat for my family for years. Sadly the old girl has seen far better days.

The food has gone down hill, they now charge for hot tea (even though the menu still says its free), the service is - well horrible.

I wouldn't recommend this place at all. 10 years ago yeah, now avoid it at all costs. The cost is astronomical for the lack of quality you get. Sad to see such a great place brought so low.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    4
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kind of a time machine-good prices and food”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Nice older staff. Good value. Good food. Been around for years...staff pushes the cart to your table and you order dinners for two, three, etc. Get the Pu Pu Platter...it like something from a 1960's Kon Tiki thing. No it's not PF Changs...it's just a neat old part of San Antonio. No it's not a buffet.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoopO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Found a pubic hair in my food!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

When I first walked into the restaurant, the carpet looked old, nasty and dirty but then I noticed the restaurant was full so I figured the food must be good. The chicken fried rice I ordered was tasty but I discovered a black pubic hair in it which completely turned me off! Also, the staff at the cash registers were not friendly at all! Don't think I'll be eating there anytime soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LWyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YUCK! A waste of $55.00 AVOID”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Was not expecting AUTHENTIC chinese food or anything top notch, but this was worse than old canned or freezer burned micro waved food. I wrote a detailed review on Google.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DH78259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Lejeune
1 review
“25 years we've been going here...never disappointed”
Reviewed December 1, 2009

My husband and i have been going to Hung Fongs for 25 years...every time we are in San Antonio to visit family...and never have left disappointed !! The staff is attentive, the food delicious, and the prices don't leave us broke for the rest of the evening... This restaurant is not pretentious, but is child-friendly, and definitely a must-visit for anyone remembering the good old days of Chinese food...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ascent2hell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hung Fong Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hung Fong Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing