We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Cappy's Restaurant

Cappy's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cappy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 4,642 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Alamo Heights
Cross street: Mary D
Transit: VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.
Description: This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Kobe beef burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chip or potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, fire-roasted prime rib, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, and top entree salads, chicken and seafood dishes. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.
Melrose, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. We were at a meeting in San Antonio and saw the trip advisor reviews. They were right. This is a wonderful restaurant. It is clean, modern and romantic. One can sit inside under umbrellas on patio or inside. We both had wine, shared a wonderful endive/apple/walnut salad (very large) and each had fish. Desserts looked great - but we were full. Total check incluing generous tip was under 100. Service was attentive, atmosphere was wonderful. Leave the Riverwalk and drive north to find this restaurant. It is just past Central Market (an upcale grocery store).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrank2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawtonGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Cappy's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    113
    28
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Live Oak, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I have been to Cappy's several times and have never been disappointed. The service is great, the food is great, and the ambiance is great. A great place to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawtonGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Cappy's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best food, Best value”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was my first San Antonio dining experience after meeting my future spouse who calls the Alamo city her hometown. It was so good, we have returned numerous times. I've never been disappointed. The waitstaff is friendly and professional. The presentation, taste, variety and portions are spot on. It's the kind of place the tourists miss and the locals love. If you are visiting San Antonio, eat here. If you want Tex-Mex, then find La Fonda on Main. They share the same owner and the same dedication to excellence.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weddingparty2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawtonGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Cappy's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Get off the river and dine here for some really good food/service”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a restaurant I always try to get to when visiting San Antonio. I would consider this the best meal I had during my most recent visit. We went for brunch and had an outstanding experience. I had the fish special. It was cooked to perfection. The wine list was very good. The prices were not outrageous. The staff was very friendly and professional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2lilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawtonGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Cappy's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ALL TIME FAVORITE”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Southwestern style food, always good either for lunch or dinner. Be sure to make reservations ahead, it is usually full.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawtonGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Cappy's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappy's Restaurant also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Cappy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing