We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever!”
Review of Cappy's Restaurant

Cappy's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cappy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Alamo Heights
Cross street: Mary D
Transit: VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.
Description: This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Kobe beef burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chip or potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, fire-roasted prime rib, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, and top entree salads, chicken and seafood dishes. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Ever!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday. Had made reservations requesting a quiet table and mentioned it was his birthday. The atmoshere and service were beyond great. Had absolutely the best fish we have ever had. Our server was so helpful with our selections of wine and food. We will definitely go back. They even sent a complimentery piece of chocolate cake to go. Guess we will have it for breakfast as we were so full.

Helpful?
Thank aztexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    113
    28
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Food!! Ambience is wonderful as well”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The seafood is always very fresh, and they do take reservations, which is so very nice to be able to walk in and not have to wait. This used to be the norm; however, a whole lot of restaurants no longer take reservations...even those that are "high end". Would recommend this one to any and all, and it is also very close to the San Antonio Airport..as it is located just a short distance down Broadway in the Alamo Heights Area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyhighp982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming place, great food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved the building, with its exposed brick walls. The upstairs area was nice and quiet for conversation. And the food was amazing. Next time we go to San Antonio, we will eat here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D'Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cappy's in San Antonio - WOW!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had not been there before, recommended to me while on a business trip to San Antonio. Went on a Tuesday night, reservations by phone fast and polite. Marcus was our server, he was outstanding. Based on his recommendations, had the special Mixed Grill and it was out of this world, also the jalapeno margarita, apparently a specialty of the house. Plus, a nice Cote du Rhone (there were three of us, thanks for your concern)

For dessert: if you don't have the Sticky Toffee pudding, you're missing something extra special, and not likely to be found west of the Old Country, let alone in Texas

Overall, a wonderful evening, HIGHLY recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomtheTraveler01930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
959 reviews
691 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
“Disappointed Again,”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I kept reading all those outstanding reviews on TA,
I really wanted to experience a similar culinary treat.
So we ventured forth once again;

We visited Cappy's for a brunch on Saturday morning.
The greeters here are very friendly and there's nice smiles all over.
Our server was friendly and efficient.
I ordered the Texas pot roast.
It was at least 50% pure fat. I returned the pot roast
and it was replaced by a small piece of fish swimming in a sea of watery salad. For a $16 lunch item I expect more fish than this morsel.



They have a unique tradition at Cappy's for brunch.
They serve you a dish of scones and muffins as you sit down. When you eat these cute little devils your insulin
goes off the charts. When that happens your appetite increases exponentially. That's not playing fair.

My BW had eggs Benedict with fish, two eggs on
an English muffin. There was very little fish,
and the sauce was bland.
It does get crowded here and the noise level gets very high. It's better to arrive early and beat the rush.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawtonGroup, Social Media Director at Cappy's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We at Cappy's endeavor to be the best, and always appreciate honest and well-intentioned feedback from our guests. We prefer that you let us know if anything is less than satisfactory while at the restaurant. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cappy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing