We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers”
Review of Sam's Burger Joint

Sam's Burger Joint
Ranked #227 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I went to Sam's Burger Joint specifically to see my favorite band play. It was my first time to visit there and I was very impressed. My first stop was in the restaurant where I had a delicious hamburger with a side salad. There is a full bar and a patio area. The music venue is my favorite kind of venue. It is just the right size for a small intimate show.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RQuillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    55
    21
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Burgers Beer Tots Music & Friends!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

What a great idea - to add a music venue to a burger joint!! For a very fun Friday night we headed to Sam's Burger Joint. Ordered up burgers, tots & beer then got to hear some incredible 70's & 80's music from the band Sky Rocket while enjoying dinner. The restaurant is very casual - but with the music venue and location- folks were dressed from very casual to business attire - as there are many businesses in this area. I had the guacamole burger - which was fantastic. The buns are branded with "Sam's" - what a nice touch for a simple burger joint. I looked at their calendar over the next few months - this burger joint has some great music coming their way. If you are looking for an enjoyable - but not break your wallet kind of evening out - come here! Dinner and a beer - under $15. And $15 cover to listen to the band. I found it to be very reasonable. Forewarning - the burgers are big - if you aren't really hungry - you might want to share one - or forego the tots/fries. The only improvement I could suggest for this place - maybe more staff - they only have a few staff - but they were busting it out. I will be back!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blueigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Burger downtown San Antonio”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

While you're staying downtown for a visit to the city or just passing through, Sams burger joint is a nice find for a hungry stomach. From their fresh toppings to their grilled buns and delicious sides, it's a great place to stop. On the weekends they usually have a band playing so it's a great place to hang out and enjoy the atmosphere. Parking is the only stickler here, but other than that a great place for a great burger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Treat After a Mission Trail Ride”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited with hubs and a friend after a long bike ride on a Sunday evening. Got there about 7 and the place was packed. If you want a 'sit own and be waited on' dinner ...this is not your place. It's a burger joint ...and they use real meat ...yep! Delicious burger ...very large, fresh. Real cut onion rings. Perfect ending for a bunch of weary bikers. Service was kind of slow, though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“This is an amazing burger!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sam's offeres a fantastic burger to suit just about any taste. Another bonus is you can get a bucket of beers and really enjoy your food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Burger Joint also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing