We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh tortillas”
Review of Alamo Cafe

Alamo Cafe
Ranked #161 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Far North Central
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh tortillas”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Yumm! Fresh tortillas and amazing queso. This is our go to place when we can't decide what's for dinner. Can be loud. But excellent for kids. They fill up on the chips! The steak fajitas are awesome! As is the chicken Laredo

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    122
    44
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Tex-Mex Value”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited the north San Pedro location while visiting the area. It was a great experience. This location had LOTS of seating and didn't have to wait too long. The tortillas were great but the fish tacos had too much creamy cilantro dressing on the slaw for my tastes. Will visit this restaurant when in the area again with great value for the price! Food was just as good as popular places downtown.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great San Antonio restaurant for Lunch with Family”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

A San Antonio favorite for a reasonable family lunch The food is plentiful and the cost is minimal. I love the down town location for some reason but have enjoyed it a other locations as well Get the Complete dinner I think its called for the hungry eater only that wants to try everything. Enjoy

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinceCisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Me, my wife, two daughters and my parents visited San Antonio for vacation for 1st time and we're driving around looking for place to eat and found this restaurant. It is huge but service was quick and tex mex menu was good. Can watch them making tortillas fresh.

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my FAVORITE places to eat in SA”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

-Fresh tortillas...you can watch them make them right as you walk in.
-Delicious and versatile menu. Chips and Queso are a must for the appetizer. I LOVE the fajitas. Beef, chicken, and/or Vegetable Fajitas are great. Tacos, Puffy Tacos, Chimichangas, Beef Ensalada, it's all yummy!
-My husband likes the Margaritas.
-My kids LOVE eating at Alamo Cafe.
-It's a great place to take family/friends when they are in town visiting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redhollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Cafe also viewed

San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Alamo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing