We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service!!”
Review of Alamo Cafe

Alamo Cafe
Ranked #141 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Far North Central
Carolinas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a great choice if you're anywhere near the San Antonio Airport. Very good service. I will go back when I'm in the area again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigCarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    118
    44
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Have the corn tortillas”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

How often do you get homemade tortillas? I ordered the corn, and thought at first that they'd made a mistake. They were a perfect complement to the chicken and vegetable fajitas, which included real vegetables - zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower - besides the standard peppers and onions. Definitely the best choice in this immediate area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Tortillas”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I love that when you walk in you can see the making the tortillas. As soon as you order they bring you a bunch of tortillas. They were fresh and fabulous. There was a large group of us, and they waitress was awesome. She handled all of us professionally. The dinner was great. My favorite appetizers was the stuff jalapenos... do die for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Still on top! ”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

My colleague and I had lunch at Alamo Cafe goday. It has been more than 3 years since I visited. Nevertheless, the place was busy, the staff sat us right away and the table setup was swiftly delivered. We ordered a chimichanga lunch plate and fajitas. Both of us dug in as soon as our plates were at the table. It seemed that we both breathed in our dishes whole! Our waiter kept our drinks topped off every few minutes, removed the used dishes promptly and had our ticket for us in just a few seconds. This place has lost nothing and remains one of my personal favorites in San Antonio!

Helpful?
Thank Rubén Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still good after all these years”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Took my family there for an after-holidays get together and this place never lets me down (well...almost). The Chile Relleno is my favorite and the chicken flautas are excellent for anyone wanting a smaller meal. The tortillas are all fresh and hand made, which makes a huge difference in the taste. The place is definitely family friendly and patio seating when the weather is nice is a real treat.
This trip they were out of my favorite flavor of ice cream, but any of the BlueBell flavors are great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasJimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Cafe also viewed

San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Alamo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing