We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at good prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alamo Cafe

Alamo Cafe
Ranked #129 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Far North Central
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

There food is good at a good price. Their food tastes good and I enjoyed their enchiladas. I like the fact that they give you fresh tortillas with your food. Their salsa is a little bland but I liked their chips and they have really good charro beans. This isn't the best Mexican food in San Antonio but it is good and quick and cheap. Me and my wife can get out for under $20 most of the time. The location has plenty of parking and the service is fast and efficient. The building is pretty and I liked the little stream. It gets packed quickly and can be a bit loud during busy times. It is tricky to know what exit to take to get there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dustinmc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    115
    42
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
230 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cool place, food just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The service was great! The building was very pretty with a little stream running through the restaurant and nice patio. The food was okay... Not bad, but not great. We'd venture elsewhere for Mexican next time were in San Antonio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraBeth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tylertown, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, and delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I liked the traditional Mexican venue with the Margaritas and fast service. The tall ceilings to the easy parking and benches outside for waiting parties on the professionally groomed grounds created a pleasant atmosphere inside and out. It was close to the airport.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PStalcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Went for my first time last month. Tortillas are awesome. Need to be cooked a little longer.

Had tortilla soul. Different but it was tasty.

Husband has the puffy tacks. They were fluffy with lots of flavor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AliciatheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationfamily3
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location, convenient. Small parking lot. The restaurant was packed but it was a Friday. That didnt matter, we were seated immediately. Service was sincere, smiling and happy waitress. Food was excellent. Salsa superb! Price is fantastic. Will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alamo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing