We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alamo Cafe

Alamo Cafe
Ranked #111 of 4,597 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Far North Central
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I eat at the Alamo Cafe on a regular basis. The service and the food are always consistently good. Their salsa is good but not as good as most places - but that is of course a personal preference as I prefer to have chunks of tomatoes, peppers, onions and such in my salsa. Their salsa is a puree style, but again, still good (not great). Chips and tortillas are always fresh and good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    118
    42
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
219 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex on the North side”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Went here to celebrate my daughter's birthday. In my opinion they have the best fajitas on the North side of San Antonio. The restaurant is huge, so don't let the crowded parking lot deter you, and it's divided into several different rooms, so it doesn't seem as large as it is. The tortillas are made on site and very fresh and tasty. Fast, efficient and friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just_A_Bubba_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Not too bad.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place was pretty good. Definitely a dinner spot. We went at lunch and the servings were just way too big. The chicken fried steak was pretty good as well as the puffy tacos. Guacamole and some tortillas make a fantastic appetizer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
293 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lots of Food”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Chicken Fried Steak always a favorite. More than I can eat. Have some friends from out of town who always want to eat here.

Helpful?
Thank OWL78654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“Hot, Fresh Homemade Tortillas”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is always our first stop when we get off the plane in San Antonio. I could make a meal off the tortillas, salsa, and queso. Always a favorite when we lived in San Antonio and still makes my mouth water to think about the great Tex Mex food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GypseyEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Cafe also viewed

San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Alamo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing