We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taco Bell would have been better!”

La Fogata Mexican Cuisine
Ranked #89 of 4,645 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Central
Description: Founded in 1978, we have been fire-roasting our famous salsa and mixing our legendary margaritas for 35 years, serving an average of 450 guests daily—that’s right, 6,000 (or more) happy diners enjoy the restaurant each week. That’s an amazing feat for a San Antonio Mexican restaurant that started as little more than a taco stand in a former neighborhood Dairy Queen. Our staff is dedicated to your fun! The La Fogata team includes staff members who have been on the serving line since 1978. The same cook has been creating the restaurant’s award-winning salsa for 24 years. In an industry known for its high turnover, even the wait staff includes long-time La Fogata veterans, so Dwight is surrounded by a dedicated team who knows the business and shares his passion for the restaurant.
McKinney, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Taco Bell would have been better!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were so excited to try La Fogata on our recent trip to San Antonio. It had been recommended to us by a close friend. Although after we told him are opinions about the restaurant, he did say he recommended it more for the Margaritas and atmosphere than the food. We ordered shrimp nachos for the appetizer. They were so bland, shrimp did not taste fresh and there was way too much cheese on them. Lunch was chicken quesadilla for me and steak tacos for my husband. Since there was no kids menu, my children ate chicken soft tacos. Both of our meals were boring and had no flavor. The chicken quesadilla was exactly the same thing that was served to my children as a chicken soft taco. Food was boring and bland. Not worth the $70 bill we had to pay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5ontheroadTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    158
    68
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Old stand-by still shines brightly”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

One of my long time favorite places, I try to hit it every time I get to San Antonio. My GF and I never got past the appetizers, they are so good. Cebollas Al Carbon and Cocktail De Camarones A La Marinera were fantastic. And the table side prep of the guacamole can't be beat. The margaritas were tasty, we had the one made with fresh lime juice, not the mix. Highly suggested! All in all, this place is true Mexican comfort food and worth a visit. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn.
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Fun place; Not crazy about the food”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

One of the old-time Mexican restaurants in SA, a group of us decided this would be a great place for dinner. Overall it was good with great guacamole but there were a few outstanding dishes.

Let’s start with a must have, the guacamole. This dish was prepared at the table and if you order nothing else, you must have the guacamole. The texture maintained large pieces of the avocado, and the flavor was delicious. The serve with a few halved hot peppers (no I did not eat these) and served with a few bowls of chips. The Nachos con Quesa was served with the cheese sauce in a separate bowl, so each guest can grab some tortilla chips, add as much Quesa as desired and then add a little of the salsa that was present.

For my entrée I ordered the steak with a chicken and cheese stuffed poblano pepper. None of these were as good as the guacamole and nachos, served with a side salad with a little avocado dressing and baked beans. The baked beans were fantastic, easily the best part of the dish and one of my Texas colleagues told me the addition of cilantro into the beans created the distinctive San Antonio flavor, and he was correct. I loved the beans. The poblano pepper itself was very good, a nice char on the outside and sweet in flavor. The chicken stuffing was not to my liking in flavor or texture. It was too firm, with the consistency of Thanksgiving stuffing and the flavor was uneventful. The steak was cooked perfectly to medium-rare, but the texture was almost gelatinous and not pleasant. The seasoning was either non-existent or peppery. And after one taste of the avocado dressing, there was no need to finish that part, it was very sour and not enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best margaritas and mole in town!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Lived in San Antonio for two years and this is the place we took all visitors to. Best margaritas, awesome mole, fabulous table-side guac! And don't forget the queso flameado! It gets very crowded on the weekends, but you can order drinks while you wait and sit around the fountains. Mostly outside seating, so go on a gorgeous San Antonio day. Don't let the neighborhood fool you, this place rocks!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetart711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic. Best of the Best in San Antonio!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Four of us visited for the first time today for dinner on advice of a local and it was fantastic! We had quesadilla, enchilada, taco soft shell and the sampler platter. We enjoyed the guac, refried beans and margaritas...all delicious! We ate outside on the garden patio and it was a wonderful atmosphere...definitely worth the visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kusscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Fogata Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing