We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your bill”
Review of Miss Ellie's Pizza

Miss Ellie's Pizza
Ranked #783 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Watch your bill”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The pizza is decent but greasy. My problem and why I haven't gone back is the cashier tried to take advantage of my children. He decided to charge them for a cup of water. $1.00 a piece. When I went up to the register to help all of a sudden the bill changed.....hummmmm. Really??? If you don't want kids there make it obvious.

Helpful?
Thank sanchance
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Pizza for Texas”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

They say it is New York pizza and maybe it is but in New York it wouldn't be in business. But in Texas it is good pizza. You don't want to eat there it is not comfortable but take out is the way to go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobasheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ok this is real New York thin slice pizza”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ok decided since I was in town and on past reviews to try it. I walked in around mid afternoon and it was the typical nothing fancy small pizza joint in an older strip mall with with three steel deck ovens, the typical clientele eating with purpose and minding their own business.

I ordered one slice of cheese pizza which to me is the real test. After all if a plain slice isn't any good,no matter what you put on it, it still isn't good pizza. The slice came out with a nice chard, the flavor was very good with very nice spicing and a nice sweet sauce, not over loaded with cheese. The crust was crunchy and tasty on the outside yet still moist and flavorful inside.

It's definitely NY style thin crust and of the type reminiscent of that you would get on the old New Jersey boardwalk. The closet to true New York style Ive tried outside of the NT Metro area. In fact I would even say it's just close. It's truly good NY style pizza. If served in the NY area, people would ask were you got it so they could order some. The locals should be very happy to have it there.

I took a whole plain and a sausage mushroom back and my Texas relatives that I was visiting really enjoyed it.

This is now my go to pizza when in San Antonio.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank traveling_phil_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Really enjoyed the pizza, lasagna and garlic knots! You leave very well fed!! The salads are fresh and the service prompt and courteous. Kudos to the staff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnjn12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic New York / New England style pizza”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

First of all, those who do not like this place grew up on chain pizza...and there is no comparison. It's not Chicago-style, it's not chain style, it's not focaccia, it's New York/Boston style pizza. And those of us from there GET IT.

They use REAL SLICED SAUSAGE (not the "rat dropping" style nuggets you usually find here). Prices are fair...It's I think, $12.99 for a large pizza that serves my family of 4. We have been customers since 2001. It's like walking into Cheers...they know your name!

They deliver the the area around Bitters/281, but not, unfortunately, to Stone Oak...wah!!!

Yeah, it's not a fancy, or large place...But if you want designer pizza (seriously????) this is not for you. If you want REAL pizza, then visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SA Tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Ellie's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Miss Ellie's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing