We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Navarro or Saint Mary's
Transit: Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.
Description: Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The bar is visually appealing and the dining room was elegant. We dined here as a party of four on a Sunday evening and were pleased with the service and food. The appetizer, bread and entrees were very good. The french onion soup and spinach artichoke dip were up there with the best I have had. We wanted to try one of the table side desserts such as cherries jubilee but we were just too full. My only critique would be they could slow down on all of the up selling. I know what I want to order and do not care to hear about two or more things I should order " for the table."

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aprilmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    209
    95
    50
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Steak was fantastic. Seafood (crab stuffed shrimp) was terrible, we had to send it back. Waitstaff was understanding and did take it off the bill. But overall, service was not where it should have been for a restaurant of this caliber (reputation). The dining room was open, loud, and not at all cozy. The bar downstairs was MUCH better atmosphere, with good jazz playing. Will not go back to the restaurant, but will go back to the bar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Truly an Experience”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Let me first start out by saying that Bohanan's is not a meal...its an experience. Being rated the number 2 steak house in Texas is not a title to mess around with. My boyfriend and I celebrated an anniversary, a birthday, and valentines day all in the same month and this was a perfect treat for both of us. The servers were extremely attentive and friendly without being condescending for such an upscale place. For people not looking to drop some serious money, don't come here! Plan and simple. This is an indulgence, not something you do once a week. Loved every part of our experience. My boyfriend of course has steak as an entree, but I opted for one of the specials: giant prawns! They were amazing! Also, you can really tell judge a place by how happy and accommodating your servers are. All servers should strive for this excellence. Well done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Exceptional !”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I think this was the finest meal we've had in any restaurant in the U.S. The atmosphere is very upscale without being snooty -- tough to pull off. The servers are extremely attentive and knowledgeable about their menu. Their appetizer was a truly unique spread that I won't try to detail - except who would ever think jalapeno's could be used this creatively. My wife had seafood and I had an Allen Brothers steak. Both were exceptionally cooked. You'll spend $80 per personm but it was one of the highlights of our trip to San Antonio.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEO_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Five star service!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and warm customer service, awesome menu, and perfect food! Would definitely return! The atmosphere had an upbeat vibe but wasn't too loud or rushed. Everything was relaxed and comfortable as we enjoyed our meal. I recommend the oysters!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DontCheckBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing