We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy late dinner”

Zinc Bistro and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Zinc Bistro and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 4,597 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Commerce
Description: Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts. Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.
Kihei, HI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy late dinner”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice wine list by the glass. Great starters including the tableside
guacamole(spelling?)preparation , antipasto, and the truffle oil French fries. The burgers looked wonderful and got rave reviews from diners at adjacent table. Reasonable prices in a nice setting. Huge patio dining area but rain shut that down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauicruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    204
    49
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Food/Great Ambiance”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I ate a lunch and a dinner here while visiting San Antonio on business. Very good tableside Guacamole and the cocktails were very good as well. For dinner, my friend and I shared a chopped salad with Salmon tartare and the Strip Steak. The steak was good, nothing special. However, the chopped salad was presented beautifully and had fresh sweet corn that had been flash frozen. It was a wonderful mix of flavors and crunch-- very memorable. The place was bustling on a Saturday night and everyone seemed to be enjoying their food. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grey_Goose_Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional service and food for lunch”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Small bistro style restaurant and bar. Intimate, big city atmosphere. The portabello mushroom burger was terrific. The Zinc burger, their specialty, was thoroughly enjoyed by my wife. The $3.00 caesar salad was unbelievable in taste and price. The shaved parmesan made the difference. Our server was excellent

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
750 reviews
537 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Slightly off the river walk but a great place to eat and drink. Semis to take its name from the unusual bar counter top. Service was outstanding even with them busy. So good I go there each trip

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Little Gem”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was staying at a downtown hotel and wanted a good burger. Zinc was recommended by the hotel staff and I wasn't disappointed. It is hardly a burger joint (I like those too), though; rather it is a Bistro and Bar. A very nice/intimate space with indoor and outdoor seating and sort of upscale southwestern touch to it. I had the Zinc Burger and a beer. The burger was great and different as it had a parmesan tuiles and spicy tomato aioli. Just enough spice to make the cold beer refreshing and thirst quenching. Waiter was friendly, professional and knowledgable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MGG555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Bistro and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Zinc Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing