We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think twice.”

Zinc Bistro and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Zinc Bistro and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Commerce
Description: Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts. Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't think twice.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

By recommendation from 4Square reviewers, I ordered the Zinc burger, tableside guacamole and a margarita. Everything was fresh and bursting with flavor. I wish I'd made room for one of their enticing desserts. I'll be returning next time I'm in San Antonio

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SullivanAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    211
    51
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A MUST”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved this restaurant so much we went there twice and we were only in San Antonio 4 days. Don't miss this great, reasonably priced, restaurant if you are in the area. Fabulous!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best. Sandwich. I've. Had.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Zinc is on a street off the main restaurant area of the River Walk. We were unsure when we first approached but the price was right so we went inside. The waitress was quick to the table and very knowledgeable about the menu and drink pairings. She also let us know how all of the food was prepared in-house, including the breads, dressings, cheese and desserts (including the whipped cream).I ordered a ham, cheese and tomato sandwich. It came with a salad or soup and terra chips. The salad was dressed lightly and included fresh Granny Smith apple slices, goat cheese, mixed greens and the vinaigrette. It was a great start and I was ready to see what was coming next. The sandwich was the best I have tasted. The bread was fantastic. The ham had a sweet flavor. All of the ingredients mixed well, like the asparagus mixed in the bread and then grilled spears on the sandwich. Some of the chips were spicy and some were sweet. My friend had the Zinc Burger. I tried a bite and it was juicy and crunchy (the Parmesan tuile is still being discussed). We enjoyed everything so much we decided to try dessert. The creme brûlée was cooked perfectly. It was a light creaminess that melted in my mouth with a perfect crunch from the top. The whipped creme and berries added a nice balance. It will be a repeat even on a short trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaunalynn250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It seems the waiter forgot us!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

It took forever to have our very simple order: lamb sndwitch, and grilled shrimp?? We noticed that he didn't write our order at all?? We will never ever come again for this resturant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amegren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

While in SA for a wedding, I ended every evening at Zinc. Sat in the open courtyard, drank Macallan and smoked cigars with my best friends. This is a great hideout in downtown San Antonio. Shotgun bar with interior seating, the exterior seating for those that want a more private, intimate feel or want to smoke and not offend. Service was excellent and prices reasonable. They have their own well stocked humidor but feel free to bring your own, sit back and relax!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CalebTumon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Bistro and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Zinc Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing