We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique in SA”

Zinc Bistro and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Zinc Bistro and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 4,602 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Commerce
Description: Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts. Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.
Texas
Level Contributor
310 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Unique in SA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Conference in SA. looking for something different for dinner. My lady & I and a work colleague headed to Zinc, based on recommendation from a friend. Glad we did. Very funky, alive, little place. When we first arrived there were no seats other than at bar so we started there with some cocktails and appetizers. As soon as a table on the private patio - more like an interior courtyard - was freed up, we were moved outside. Great wine list, excellent menu, friendly - if slow - staff, secluded location. Well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    204
    50
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Zinc-Good Food, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to Zinc's on a recommendation from our hotel. It was Easter Sunday and dining choices were limited. No problem- we four had a very nice dinner served by very nice people with good choices of wine by the glass.

I liked the small plates options on the menu. Two of us had a very good pasta dish, one had fish and I had a hot ham and cheese sandwich. Good salads as starters made for a really good casual meal in a comfortable dining room. When the bill arrived we were pleasantly surprised at how little we had paid for a very good and enjoyable dinner. You can eat big or small here. It's nice to have that choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have been to Zinc twice on our trip to San Antonio. And we could not recommend it more highly. The food is excellent as is the service, and the prices are very reasonable. In our opinion, this restaurant is far better than more expensive options such as Biga on The Banks. Indeed, we would rank Zinc at the very top of all the restaurants we have eaten at in San Antonio. It is truly superb.

The burgers are excellent, and the lamb wrap is remarkable. My daughter had the pizza and said it was some of the best she has ever had (equal to the best in New Haven or New York, which is saying something). My wife had the steak frites and really like that dish as well.

I just can't say enough good about this restaurant. Try it. You will like it.

My only criticism (and it's one that could be levied at a lot of other places as well) is that it can be a bit noisy if the main dining room is crowded and one of the tables gets loud, which caused every other table to get louder. Some sound-deadening material would help.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestLawyer0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Loved the ambience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A glass of wine, "upscale" hamburgers, Eating by candlelight in a pretty courtyard on a warm evening. Nothing could be nicer! Reasonably priced. Service a little slow, but we found that to be the case everywhere in San Antonio. Close to the Convention Center.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCN-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food, but Inconsistent Drinks and Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The drinks and service - Hit and Miss:
My 4 girlfriends and I visited Zinc specifically to take advantage of their happy hour drink and food specials. Our first round of drinks (Margaritas) were enjoyed by the group and came in a timely fashion, The second round (Margaritas again) took quite a while to get to us and did not have the same taste as the first. The waitress also did not bring the correct type. She was very professional and offered to bring replacements.

Note that the margaritas come with a special house-made seasoned salt mixture on the rim. We did not realize this and some of us liked it and others did not.

The Food - Good:
We ordered the guacamole, artichoke dip, truffled parm fries, zinc salads, a portabello sandwich, and a margharita pizza. We enjoyed all of the food items.

I would recommend the restaurant, especially the happy hour. It is a good value! The outdoor seating is pleasant and a nice place to relax and talk after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Bistro and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Zinc Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing