We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast”

Schilo's Delicatessen
Ranked #33 of 4,602 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wallkill, NY
Level Contributor
176 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast at Schilo's Delicatessen. The pancakes and potato pancakes were quite tasty. I like my eggs fried over medium which seems difficult to some cooks. Not here...my eggs were cooked to perfection. In addition, you can't beat the price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DogLoverDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    482
    189
    50
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tionesta, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“cute place with character and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The food was good (I had the Rueben and German Potato salad). Don't miss having the root beer ~ it was delicious!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgr8house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not their best...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have eaten at Schilo's many times and usually I have good experiences, but this time was NOT. I am disappointed to have to share this with you, dear traveller.
I visited Schilo's with my mother, husband, and baby. The three of them arrived before I did and got a table, and I was very surprised when I arrived to find the front door to the restaurant locked. (The time was 8:22pm, and they close at 8:30. Also, can you say "fire hazard?") The employees ignored me when I knocked to be let in. I had to call my mom's cell phone to tell her I was locked out before the door was opened for me.
Our waitress was not pleasant and her overall service was poor. We'd ordered a sandwich and asked for the side of soup to be added, so she brought out a bowl of soup. When we said we just asked for the cup of soup, she argued with us and said, "you told me a bowl," and did not offer to switch them or take it back or anything. She did not refill our drinks. After we'd asked for a refill of rootbeer (which is amazing, I think they make their own), the manager asked her if she needed more rootbeer, then she looked right at us, then looked back at him and said no. We did get one refill but not another because they'd already "put it up for the night."
After this it took forever for us to get our check, then forever for the waitress to pick up my card, then forever for her to bring it back.
The food tasted good, but I don't think getting good food is worth the hassle of dealing with being locked out, rude waitstaff, and non-existent customer service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not really authentic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We popped in here for breakfast one morning and were not blown away by any means. The prices were considerably lower than other joints in downtown San Antonio, and when we got our meals we saw and tasted why: Skimpy portions and the bratwurst tasted like it came from a local supermarket. Service was weak (except for the I-don't-want-to-be-here attitude, that part was strong) to almost non-existent. Had to flag down the waitress for coffee refills because she never checked on us.
This place has a cool "old -been-here-a-while" feel and decor, but that's only good for one visit. And I'll be the first to admit that maybe we hit them on a bad day - especially judging from the other comments posted here. But my Grandparents were from the old country so I know what real German food is. I'd be willing to give them a second chance the next time I come to San Antonio. It's not that easy to find das Frühstück Deutsche gute in South Texas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Schilo's Does Not Disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great food, great service and great prices!!!! We always visit this restaurant when we are in San Antonio. The Split Pea Soup is the best I've ever had.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCarrabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schilo's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Schilo's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing